Purchase photos

HMS teacher earns master honors


Tara O'Connor, science and communications teacher at Hays Middle School, was named Hays NEA 2013 Master Teacher of the Year, Hays USD 489 announced Tuesday.

O'Conner has taught in the district for 16 years.

Other USD 489 finalists recognized were Linda Lang and Jenny Prine, Lincoln Elementary; Gina Johnson, O'Loughlin Elementary; Rita Legleiter, Roosevelt Elementary; Stacie Zimmerman, Wilson Elementary; Dayna Crawford, Washington Elementary; Desirae Kinderknecht, Hays High; and Robin Henman, district-wide special education.

O'Conner will be honored at the Hays NEA Master Teacher/Retiree Banquet on April 30.