Purchase photos

Hays Democrat records perfect attendance in 2012 session


Special to The Hays Daily News

Special to The Hays Daily News

TOPEKA -- Ten Kansas House Democrats have been recognized for achieving a 100 percent voting record during the 2012 legislative session, including Rep. Eber Phelps, D-Hays. Only 27 of 125 members in the House of Representatives achieved this distinction.

The following House Democrats cast every vote of the 2012 legislative session and achieved perfect attendance: Phelps; Tom Burroughs, Kansas City; Bill Feuerborn, Garnett; Gail Finney, Wichita; Stan Frownfelter, Kansas City; Judy Loganbill, Wichita; Melanie Meier, Leavenworth; Vince Wetta, Wellington; Jerry Williams, Chanute; and Kathy Wolfe Moore, Kansas City.

Throughout his 16 years in the Kansas Legislature, Phelps never has missed a day of work.

"This was a difficult legislative session filled with really tough votes," said House Democratic Leader Paul Davis, Lawrence. "Republican infighting created unprecedented gridlock and resulted in the fifth longest legislative session in Kansas history. Eber's ability to be present every day and cast every single vote demonstrates his unwavering commitment to Hays and the entire state."