Purchase photos

Master teachers honored at reception





Eva Junk's voice was thick with emotion as she recalled highlights from her career in education.

Junk, an elementary school counselor at Hays USD 489, was named the Hays Master Teacher by the Hays National Educators Association.

She and the other nominees were honored at a reception Wednesday afternoon at Lincoln Elementary School.

Administrators and staff members attended, and Lincoln Principal Elaine Rohleder introduced Junk.

Other nominees were Melinda Cross, Hays High; Debbie Ermoian, Felten Middle School; Amy Wasinger, O'Loughlin Elementary; Laura Gaughan, Washington Elementary; Kim Lyon, Roosevelt Elementary; Myra Kreutzer, special education co-op; Rhonda Lee, Kennedy Middle School; and Patty Weber, Wilson Elementary.

To qualify as a master teacher, a nominee must be a member of NEA and have been teaching for a minimum of five years, Robin Wiebe said in an email.

Wiebe is co-president of HNEA, along with Ted Foster.

Each building in the district prepares a list of qualified members, and members vote on the teacher they believe should be a master teacher.

One teacher from each building is selected and all HNEA members have the opportunity to vote on the list of building finalists.

As the HNEA master teacher, Junk is a finalist for the Kansas Master teacher.