Email This Story

Recipient's Email:
Sender's Email:
captcha 804758c07c7c43e6a0cf6c0976a03029
Enter text seen above:

Deford will be honored by Kansas journalists

LAWRENCE -- The 2013 William Allen White Foundation National Citation will go to one of the most versatile journalists in the United States. Frank Deford will receive the citation Friday at the University of Kansas.

The lecture is free to the public and will be at 10:30 a.m. in Woodruff Auditorium of the Kansas Union. The citation has been awarded annually since 1950.

Deford is an author of 18 books, including his most recent New York Times best-seller, his memoir, "Over Time: My Life As A Sportswriter." He also is known for his National Public Radio commentaries.

KU's William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications is named in White's honor. White won the Pulitzer Prize in 1923 and posthumously in 1947.

Other notable recipients of the William Allen White Citation include Candy Crowley, 2012; John Carroll, 2011; Leonard Pitts Jr., 2010; Seymour Hersh, 2008; Gordon Parks, 2006; Gerald F. Seib, 2005, Cokie Roberts, 2002; Molly Ivins, 2001; Bob Woodward, 2000; Bernard Shaw, 1994; Charles Kuralt, 1989, Helen Thomas, 1986, James J. Kilpatrick, 1979; Arthur O. Sulzberger, 1974; Walter Cronkite, 1969, and James Reston, 1950. A complete list of past recipients is available at