Email This Story

Recipient's Email:
Sender's Email:
captcha c59d829dd4694710a23756e78c7dab57
Enter text seen above:

Armbruster named Oscar Stauffer winner

By The Hays Daily News

Hays' Dustin Armbruster, play-by-play broadcaster for Hays High School athletics, recently was named this year's Oscar Stauffer Award winner. The award recognizes the radio Sportscaster of the Year by the Kansas State High School Activities Association.

Armbruster, a WaKeeney native and 2000 graduate of Trego Community High School, is the fifth person from Eagle Radio to earn the award, joining a list that includes Bob Davis, voice of the University of Kansas Jayhawks; Wyatt Thompson, voice of the Kansas State University Wildcats; Gerard Wellbrock, Eagle sports director and voice of the Fort Hays State University Tigers; and Mike Hammett, the former voice of the Thomas More Prep-Marian Monarchs who earned the award in 2010-11.

Armbruster, while broadcasting HHS football and basketball games, also provides color commentary for Fort Hays broadcasts and is a morning personality on Mix 103.3 FM.