Email This Story

Recipient's Email:
Sender's Email:
captcha 6e860755cdd24cfd8a217971248482ac
Enter text seen above:

FHSU media symposium will be Tuesday


Fort Hays State University will host a media symposium at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday in the Black and Gold Room of Memorial Union. The public is invited to attend.

A panel of journalists, educators and business representatives will discuss media integration and answer questions from the audience.

FHSU President Edward H. Hammond appointed a task force in February to make recommendations on the dissemination of news and information after the Student Government Association cut funding for the student newspaper, The University Leader, for the current school year. The symposium is part of the dissemination process.

The SGA changed course earlier this month and opted to fund the Leader's production in the 2013-14 school year.

Panelists invited by Hammond include Scott Reinardy, associate professor and chairman of the news and information track in the William Allen White School of Journalism at the University of Kansas; Ralph Gage, director of special projects for the Lawrence Journal-World; Patrick Lowry, editor and publisher of The Hays Daily News and past president of the Kansas Press Association; Laura York Guy, Garden City College Community College media instructor and adviser, National Scholastic Press Association board of directors member and first vice president of Kansas Collegiate Media; and Gary Shorman, president and CEO of Eagle Communications.

SGA since has voted to allocate funding to the Leader for the 2013-14 school year, but the task force will continue its work.

An open forum to give members of the FHSU community a chance to express their opinions is planned for the week after the symposium.

Members of the task force are Paul Faber, College of Arts and Sciences dean; Scott Robson, Department of Communication Studies chairman; Stephen Schleicher, Department of Informatics chairman; Ron Rohlf, infomatics instructor; Chapman Rackaway, associate professor of political science; Shana Meyer, assistant vice president of student affairs; Jennifer Robinson, graphics and animation specialist in the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technology; and students Gentry Heimerman and Matthew Whitmore.

Task force recommendations are due to the administration April 19.