Email This Story

Recipient's Email:
Sender's Email:
captcha f062a6776fb1496ea47aef1795482950
Enter text seen above:

USD 489 names department leaders

As part of the 2012-13 bargaining agreement with teachers, Hays USD 489 will have grade level and department chairs for the second semester.

Chair duties include providing leadership in developing in-service activities and recommendations for curriculum revisions, leading meetings and providing input for budgets for instructional materials, equipment, in-service and travel.

Superintendent Will Roth said the district hasn't had designated department chairs who earned additional pay for a year-and-a-half.

Chairs of departments with fewer than 12 staff members will be paid an additional $1,451, while chairs of departments with more than 12 staff members will be receive an additional $1,739.

The chairs are: Jill Blurton, PE/health; Jerald Braun, HMS math; Lisa Colwell, HHS math; Donna Cooper, HHS science; Dayna Crawford, kindergarten; Melinda Cross, language; Denise Danielson, third grade; Chris Dinkel, technology; Jody Dinkel, first grade; Marilyn Engel, HMS English/language arts; Cathy Kuhn, human services; Ron Leikam, HHS social studies; Suzanne Leikam, fifth grade; Nathan Mark, music; Sherri Matlock, counselors; Jeanie Michaelis, business; Tara O'Connor, HMS science; Patricia Park, fourth grade; Joanne Reynolds, second grade; Kim Schneweis, art; and Kathy Wagoner, HHS English/language arts.