Email This Story

Recipient's Email:
Sender's Email:
captcha 130472bbe0ee44bfbf8479ced4f6ef07
Enter text seen above:

Most of Kansas gets disaster declaration

Most Kansas counties again have been declared disaster areas, the result of a second year of drought.

All but one of the remaining counties in the state received the disaster declaration as well because they are adjacent to a county eligible for the drought declaration.

Doniphan County in far northeast Kansas is the only county not receiving the declaration.

The 88 Kansas counties declared disaster areas were among 597 counties receiving the declaration Wednesday by U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.

To be eligible for a declaration, counties must be in at least a severe drought category for eight consecutive weeks, based on the U.S. Drought Monitor.

The declaration opens up low-interest emergency loans through the Farm Service Agency.