Several area high school students were among delegates to the 2018 session of the American Legion Boys State of Kansas Leadership academy. The event, in its 81st year, was June 3 to 8 at Kansas State University in Manhattan for the 27th consecutive year.

Boys State provides a relevant, interactive, problem-solving experience in leadership and teamwork that develops self-identity, promotes mutual respect and instills civic responsibility. Boys State is a “learning by doing” political exercise that simulates elections, political parties and government at the state, county and local levels, providing opportunities to lead under pressure, showcasing character and working effectively within a team. It’s also an opportunity to gain pride and respect for government and the price paid by members of the military to preserve democracy.

Those attending are listed by their hometown and their elected or appointed position during the academy:

Ness City

• Landon Reinhardt, Ness City High School, KSBS News Staff. Reinhardt was elected the Outstanding Citizen for the City of Gardner


• Scout Perryman, Hays High School, Supreme Court Justice

• Kade Urban, Thomas More Prep-Marion High School, Marshall County Commissioner

• Richard Whitmer, Thomas More Prep-Marion High School, Bradley County Commissioner

• Nicholas Zimmerman, Hays High School, City of Aylward Councilman

Hill City

• Asa Brandyberry, Hill City High School, Kennedy County Commissioner


• Kyler Fritschen, Russell High School, Powell County Representative

• Samuel Ochs, Russell High School, City of Icenogle Councilman