Purchase photos

Candidate files petition for Ellis County seat


Lyle Johnston, Ellis Republican, has filed as a first district Ellis County Commission candidate. Swede Holgren currently holds the seat.

Johnston is the first candidate to file for the Aug. 5 primary. The filing deadline is noon June 2.

Party candidates can file by petition. Petitions submitted by Democratic candidates must have 63 signatures, Republicans 103 and Independents 77. Candidates also can pay a filing fees totaling $226.96.

Independent candidates must file by petition, and have until noon Aug. 4 to file.