Purchase photos

Area teachers nominated for science excellence


HUTCHINSON (HNS) -- Two area teachers are among the Kansas nominees for the presidential awards for excellence in science.

Terra Keeten, a teacher at Phillipsburg Elementary School, and Tamara Wynn, Trego Grade School in WaKeeney, were among those recognized by the Kansas Department of Education during a ceremony at the Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center in Hutchinson.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are presented to educators who show a high degree of knowledge, innovation, skill and leadership. Elementary and secondary educators are recognized in alternating years.

Kansas had 12 math nominees and nine science nominees.

Two educators from each state, one in math and one in science, might be named national finalists next spring.