Purchase photos

Students 'all shook up' from nominations




They had been waiting for several months for the results.

Login Here to

Did you know? For just $0.99 you can get full site access today. Click Here



They had been waiting for several months for the results.

When the day came last week, it was easy to understand why Johnny Matlock and Brenda Meder were all shook up.

Hays High School's 2013 fall musical, "All Shook Up," was nominated in 15 of 19 categories for the 2014 Jester Awards given by the Music Theatre of Wichita. HHS had two nominations in two of those categories, giving it a total of 17 nominations overall, the most of any other school participating.

That surpassed the impressive 12 nominations Hays High received two years ago for "Aida." HHS also had several Jester Award nominations last year with its cast of "Li'l Abner."

Judges representing MTWichita traveled to 36 schools to watch live productions of 41 different shows that featured 116 performances.

Hays High had the only musical to receive a nomination in each of the four acting categories (lead actor and actress and supporting actor and actress) and also was one of only two schools that received recognition in all of the four main music categories (outstanding ensemble, orchestra, musical direction and production number).

"One of the people from (MTWichita) who came to see our production said, 'You do theater well here,' " said Matlock, director of vocal music at Hays High. "That is a real compliment."

Matlock was one of the 12 Jester nominees, for musical direction, as was Meder, executive director of Hays Arts Council who served as stage director for the musical.

The awards will be given out Friday night at the Orpheum Theatre in Wichita, where Hays High will perform one of the special production numbers of the evening.

The following is a list of Hays High's nominations:

Groups -- Outstanding overall production; outstanding ensemble; outstanding production number ("Can't Help Falling in Love.")

Students -- Senior Nick Overbey, lead actor; senior Megan Zeman, lead actress; seniors Shelby Matlock and Molly Barnett, supporting actress; juniors Max Befort and Conrad Hoffman, supporting actor.

Adults -- Tawnita Augustine, choreography; Johnny Matlock (with Lexie Robinson), orchestra; Johnny Matlock, musical direction; Brenda Meder, direction; Andrea Carmichael, costumes; lobby display (Stacy Berens, Melody Davidson, Penny McGinnis, Teresa McPherson); scenic design (Brad Moritz, Jeremy Wann, Betsy Dreiling); graphic design (Joslyn Brungardt, Caci Pommerehn).