www.mozilla.com Weather Central

Take steps to better health with Walk Kansas -3/5/2015, 4:18 PM

Are we strangers in our own homeland or not? -3/4/2015, 9:22 AM

'Focus' ends up adrift at box office -3/3/2015, 8:38 AM

Gloria changes 'lazy' to 'busy' as she prepares potatoes -3/3/2015, 8:38 AM

Take actions to reduce post-holiday stress -3/2/2015, 9:16 AM

Breeding costs in cow/calf operations have changed -3/1/2015, 4:49 PM

Clubs and meetings (March 1, 2015) -3/1/2015, 3:45 PM

myTown Calendar

[var top_story_head]

FHSU bands to perform final concert

Published on -5/1/2012, 10:14 AM

Printer-friendly version
E-Mail This Story

Special to The Hays Daily News

The Fort Hays State University Wind Ensemble will perform their final concert of the year at 7:30 p.m. Friday at Beach/Schmidt Performing Arts Center. The program is titled "It's Not What You Think It Is."

"The concert's theme is not just a catch phrase," said Director of Bands Jeff Jordan, "it's a metaphor for the 21st century band. People who have never heard a live band performance will be pleasantly surprised to find that there's more than marches and orchestral transcriptions in the repertoire. In fact, several of our selections are terrific representatives of the diversity found in today's programs."

Symphonic Winds, under the direction of Lane Weaver, will open the program, performing "First Suite in E-flat" by Gustav Holst. Considered a cornerstone of modern band literature for its innovative use of a single theme, the suite's three movements will be conducted by three of the ensemble's members. Melia Korbe, a senior music education major from Hays, will direct the opening "Chaconne" with graduate Nathan Brown from Hoisington taking the podium for the "Intermezzo." Hays Junior Matt Rome will conduct the final movement, "March."

The Symphonic Winds also will perform Eric Whitacre's iconoclastic "Godzilla Eats Las Vegas," which features everything from cocktail piano to movie sound effects to parodies of Frank Sinatra and Wayne Newton.

The FHSU Wind Ensemble, conducted by Jordan, will be featured on the concert's second half and will open with Hugo Montenegro's "Fanfare," a work originally composed for Stan Kenton's Los Angeles Neophonic Orchestra. Jordan said the piece, "originally scored for jazz band, four French horns and extra percussion was a natural transfer to the Wind Ensemble."

The band's additional selections include Vincent Persichetti's "Divertimento," a six-movement work the composer wrote while vacationing in El Dorado. Also considered a landmark work, the piece sparked interest in the possibilities of the band by other American composers and led to a Renaissance of new repertoire in the 1950s.

The ensemble will close with Valerie Coleman's "Roma," a lively mix of jazz, tango and Mediterranean musical influences. Coleman is the flutist in the Imani Winds, a woodwind quintet dedicated to "enriching the traditional wind quintet repertoire while meaningfully bridging European, American, African and Latin American traditions."

Admission to the concert is $6 for adults and $4 for students and seniors.

digg delicious facebook stumbleupon google Newsvine
More News and Photos

Associated Press Videos