www.mozilla.com Weather Central

'Focus' ends up adrift at box office -3/3/2015, 8:38 AM

Gloria changes 'lazy' to 'busy' as she prepares potatoes -3/3/2015, 8:38 AM

Take actions to reduce post-holiday stress -3/2/2015, 9:16 AM

Breeding costs in cow/calf operations have changed -3/1/2015, 4:49 PM

Clubs and meetings (March 1, 2015) -3/1/2015, 3:45 PM

Lenten retreat March 14 in Hays -2/25/2015, 11:50 AM

myTown Calendar

[var top_story_head]

D of I recognizes long-time members

Published on -5/2/2014, 8:39 AM

Printer-friendly version
E-Mail This Story

Special to The Hays Daily News

At a recent Daughters of Isabella meeting of Isabella Circle No. 254, Janet Koerner was chosen as 2014 Daughter of the Year. She will be honored at the Isabella annual breakfast May 4 at Golden Corral following the 8 a.m. Mass at Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church.

Veterans' pins also will be awarded to members who have had 50-year and 25-year membership in the local circle.

Koerner has been active in Daughters of Isabella for seven years and served as financial secretary for four years in addition to a full-time job. Also, she has been a dependable volunteer serving on various committes including nominating, handling funds at bingo functions and serving as honorary pall bearer upon the death of a member.

Additionally, as parishoners of Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church, she and her husband are hospitality greeters and church lectors. She has served on the board of directors of Mary Elizabeth Maternity Home for the past 14 years. She is the mother of three children and has three grandchildren. She resides in Hays with her husband, Bob.

Leola Gottschalk and Vivian M. Karlin will be the recipients of 50-year pins belonging to the Hays Circle. Regent Barbara Zimmerman will be master of ceremonies and the following are awarded with 25 year pins: Cecilia Budke; Alfrieda Dinges; Patricia A. Drees; Thelma King; Janet Klaus; Bertha Lang, Carolynn Legleiter, Virginia Linenberger; Doris Pfannenstiel; Bernadette Schmidt; Donna Schmidt; Verna Schumacher; Marilyn Seibel; Arlene Stramel; Diane Waldschmidt; Lorraine Wasinger; and Patty Wellbrock.

digg delicious facebook stumbleupon google Newsvine
More News and Photos

Associated Press Videos