www.mozilla.com Weather Central

Rosary rally takes place in Liebenthal -10/24/2014, 8:37 AM

Pink Impact conference coming to North Oak -10/24/2014, 8:37 AM

Living by the law of love in today's society -10/24/2014, 8:37 AM

Dominican Sisters host annual mission benefit bazaar -10/24/2014, 8:37 AM

Industry support leads to welding awards for NCK Tech -10/23/2014, 9:24 AM

Birthday -10/23/2014, 9:24 AM

Natoma group elects new officers -10/23/2014, 9:24 AM

Tricks to making jams and jellies for holiday giving -10/23/2014, 9:24 AM

'Fury' is visceral and slightly shapeless -10/22/2014, 10:20 AM

Singing, making cheese and doing laundry all part of chores -10/21/2014, 8:51 AM

Parenting adolescents no easy chore for parents -10/20/2014, 9:47 AM

Breaking down using distillers grains on the ranch -10/19/2014, 1:12 PM

Business Briefcase (Oct. 19, 2014) -10/19/2014, 1:12 PM

Clubs and meetings (Oct. 19, 2014) -10/19/2014, 2:24 PM

myTown Calendar

[var top_story_head]

HaysMed doctor named to school wall of honor

Published on -8/10/2014, 3:18 PM

Printer-friendly version
E-Mail This Story

Special to The Hays Daily News

Ottawa High School announced selections for 2014 induction into the Ottawa High School Wall of Honor.

The Ottawa High School Wall of Honor was created in 1997 to honor Ottawa graduates for outstanding professional achievement and for their service to society. Since its creation 17 years ago, 54 OHS graduates have been inducted. Inductees are chosen by a selection committee comprised of Ottawa High School student leaders, teachers and alumni. With the induction of the 2014 candidates, the OHS Wall of Honor will have 57 members.

The 2014 inductees include Anne Porter O'Dea, a 1996 graduate of the high school.

At OHS, O'Dea was president of the National Honor Society, captain of the dance team and valedictorian of the class of 1996. In 2000, she earned a bachelor of science degree from the University of Kansas and in 2004 an M.D. from the University of Kansas School of Medicine. She then completed a residency in internal medicine and fellowships in oncology/hematology and breast oncology at KU, where she received the intern of the year award, Mark Beck Outstanding Second Year Resident Award, and the student voice teaching award for three consecutive years.

In 2010, O'Dea became medical director of the breast cancer program at Hays Medial Center and is chairwoman of the Department of Medicine. In addition to patient care, she collaborates with the University of Kansas Medical Center in clinical trials for breast cancer research through the Midwest Cancer Alliance. Her research has been presented at national American College of Physicians and American Society of Clinical Oncology meetings and has been cited by the National Comprehensive Cancer Network standards for breast cancer.

In 2013, O'Dea chaired the first western Kansas Race for the Cure, which raised more than $150,000 for breast cancer research and was named Kansas Volunteer of the Year by the Kansas affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure.

O'Dea and her husband, Vaughn, also a 1996 OHS grad, have two daughters, Grace and Elizabeth. O'Dea and the other inductees will be honored Sept. 11 and 12.

digg delicious facebook stumbleupon google Newsvine
More News and Photos

Associated Press Videos

AP Breaking News
AP Nation-World News

View this site in another language.