Four K-State players, one Jayhawk named to preseason All-Big 12 football team (MCT) — Kansas State landed four players on the preseason All-Big 12 football team Wednesday.
Senior receiver Tyler Lockett led the way for the Wildcats, receiving the honor as both a wide receiver and a kick returner. Center B.J. Finney, guard Cody Whitehair and defensive end Ryan Mueller all made the team at their positions. They were joined by Kansas linebacker Ben Heeney, the only Jayhawk to make the team.
Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty won Offensive Player of the Year honors, TCU defensive lineman Devonte Fields was named Defensive Player of the Year and Oklahoma State wide receiver Tyreek Hill took home Newcomer of the Year.
The preseason team was voted on by media that regularly covers the Big 12. The league will release the media's preseason poll at 10 a.m. on Thursday.