Alpha Gamma Delta receives awards at FHSU

Special to The Hays Daily News

On April 7, Fraternity and Sorority Life on FHSU's campus held an awards banquet to celebrate the culmination of Greek Week, which had happened the previous week, and to honor specific achievements among the Greek community.

The Epsilon Mu Chapter of Alpha Gamma Delta walked away with FHSU Panhellenic Council's traveling trophies for the highest academic honors a sorority can attain on campus, which includes highest new member GPA, highest member GPA, and highest overall GPA for 2013. Other academic honors include the individually recognized Alpha Omega academic achievement awards that were awarded to Vivian Agnew, Haysville; Morgan Allaman, Liberal; Jordan Bohm, Valley Center; Leslie Cain, Peabody; Carolyn Campbell, Wheat Ridge, Colo.; Nastasja Carlson, Princeton; Hannah Cornwell, Bison; Kayelee Fokken, Briggsdale, Colo.; Hailey Irwin, Timnath, Colo.; Ellie Kasra, Waverly, Neb.; Rachel Klein, Fort Collins, Colo.; Sammy Kochanowski, Hays; Carly McCracken, Goodland; and Lauren Wiebe, Wichita.

This award recognizes Greek members achieving a 3.5 or above grade-point average for one or both semesters of 2013.

In addition, Epsilon Mu received the most prestigious award -- the Dr. Herb Songer Outstanding Greek Chapter of the year award, which is given to a collegian sorority or fraternity for outstanding excellence in all areas of fraternity life.

Carly McCracken was named the recipient of the Dr. Edward H. Hammond Award for Outstanding Greek Woman of the Year. McCracken, initiated in the fall of 2013, is a freshman at FHSU, majoring in wild life biology.

In addition to her work in Alpha Gamma Delta, McCracken is also an active member of the Global Leadership Project and Go Global at FHSU.