Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science class to graduate Saturday

Special to The Hays Daily News

The 20 members of the 2012 class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science will walk the stage at the KAMS commencement at 3 p.m. Saturday in Fort Hays State University's Memorial Union Ballroom.

This is the academy's second graduating class. They arrived at FHSU in August 2010 and gave their class a name: Trailblazers.

Edward H. Hammond, FHSU president, will give the commencement address. Two students, Rachel Schmidt, Atchison, and Shaley White, Leoti, will give speeches on behalf of the class.

Faculty will be in full regalia, and students will wear gowns and mortarboards. A reception will follow the graduation ceremony.

The academy's co-founders, Dr. Donald Norwood and Professor Jerry Magliano, will be present, as will Kansas Regent Kenny Wilk.

"All the students plan to attend the KAMS graduation along with their high school graduations," Keller said. "This class means a great deal to us. They have embraced the academy experience and have set the bar at a very high level. They have been a joy to work with and to be around and will be missed dearly."

Local KAMS graduates are Jonathan Folkerts, Hays High School, and Kaylin Hawman, Trego Community High School.