Area students pick up Washburn scholarships

Special to The Hays Daily News

TOPEKA -- Washburn University has awarded scholarships to students attending area high schools and community colleges. Students, who were able to attend, were recognized for their achievements at a recent scholarship banquet.

Students are listed below by their hometown, their school and the scholarships they have been awarded.

Damar: Kali Newell, Palco High School, academic scholarship; Hayley Normandin, Palco High School, academic scholarship.

Downs: Bailie Hennes, Lakeside High School, academic scholarship.

Goodland: Jeffrey House, Goodland High School, Garvey Scholarship and Richey Scholarship.

Grainfield: Nicole Rieth, Wheatland High School, academic scholarship.

Hays: Zoey Gubitoso, Hays High School, academic scholarship; Emily Leiker, Thomas More Prep-Marian High School, academic scholarship; Kade Megaffin, TMP-Marian High School, academic scholarship; Chelsie Schoendaller, Hays High School, academic scholarship.

Plainville: Courtney Copeland, Plainville High School, academic scholarship; Brett Davis, Plainville High School, academic scholarship.

Stockton: Micah Moll, Stockton High School, academic scholarship.

To qualify for academic scholarships, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher.

Garvey Scholarships, awarded to students with the highest scores on the Garvey Competitive Exam, range from $500 to $2,000. Students must have a minimum high school grade-point average of 3.25 to register for the exam, which Washburn administers in the fall of students' senior year. To renew the Garvey Scholarship, students must maintain a grade-point average of 3.25.

The $6,000 Richey Scholarship is awarded to select students who achieve a high school grade-point average of at least 3.9 and earn an ACT composite score of at least 28. To renew the Richey Scholarship, students must maintain a grade-point average of 3.5.