Five file for Hays City Commission

Local elections in April could bring a few new faces to city offices.

With three Hays City Commission positions open in the upcoming April 2 general election, five candidates have stepped forward.

Filing for the positions include Shaun Musil; Dominic Pianalto; Eber Phelps, who was appointed to serve the remainder of Barbara Wasinger's term; Todd Gabel; and incumbent Ron Mellick.

The two candidates who receive the most votes will receive four-year terms, and the third place vote-getter will receive a two-year term. The successful candidates will be sworn in at the April 11 city commission meeting.

* Ellis: Two candidates, Lyle Johnston, council member, and incumbent David R. McDaniel, have filed for mayor. Four candidates, Terry Redetzke, Brian Raub, Jolene Niernberger and John Leiker, have filed for the three available spots on city council. Raub, Niernberger and Leiker serve on the council.

Incumbent Faith Scheck filed for city treasurer.

* Victoria: Three council members and the mayor position are open. Curtis B. Unrein, incumbent, filed for mayor. Three incumbents, Kenneth A. Pfeifer, Jan Piesker and Leroy J. Schmidtberger, filed for the three open council seats.

* Schoenchen: Incumbent, Richard L. Klaus filed for mayor. For the five open council seats, Thomas Cole Dinges and incumbents Kevin J. Bieker and Jason Schneider filed.