Show must go on for workshop


Snow was falling and the area was under a winter storm warning.

But the show must go on.

That could be the theme of the 2013 Kansas Music Educators Association annual inservice workshop scheduled for this weekend in Wichita.

Craig Manteuffel, president of the KMEA, is director of bands at Hays High School and left early Wednesday morning in an effort to beat the storm.

"I got here at 8 (a.m.), and it started snowing at 8:30," Manteuffel said. "I had to leave early; I knew I had to be here."

Weather permitting, U.S. Sen. Jerry Moran, R-Kan., was scheduled to speak to KMEA members today as part of the organization's celebration of winning the 2012 National Advocacy Award.

KMEA was chosen for the national award partly because of a survey titled "Impact of Budget Cuts on Music Education in Kansas," which was conducted by Frederick Burrack and Phillip Payne, KMEA advocacy co-chairmen.

The annual convention draws more than 6,000 people during the three-day event. Considering the adverse weather conditions, it is unlikely the entire contingent that planned to attend this year's convention will make it to Wichita.

There are meetings and clinics and concerts, which will culminate with concerts by the all-state honor choir, band and orchestra Saturday.

"People who can get here, the events will happen," Manteuffel said early Wednesday afternoon. "Kids are arriving already with plans to stay an extra night."

* * *

Several students from Ellis County were selected from last semester's district competition at Fort Hays State University to participate in Saturday's all-state concerts, either in vocal, orchestra or band. They are:


Hays High

Alto saxophone -- Aislinn Walters, jr.


Flute -- Monica Michaud, jr.

Clarinet -- Hannah Dreiling, sr.; Allison Hohmann, jr.

Euphonium -- Nick Schumacher, jr.

French Horn -- David Moeder, jr.


Hays High

Cello -- Christopher Rooney, sr.


Flute -- Hyo Jin Lim, sr.

Violin -- Roy Schmeidler, jr.


Hays High

Seniors -- Anna Hickert, Dustin Mulkey, Cade Sharp.

Juniors -- Shelby Matlock, Rachel Muirhead, Nick Overbey, Raeanna Peacock.

Sophomores -- Max Befort, Abby Henry.

Hays Middle School

Seventh-graders -- Eric Adams, Savannah Bieker, Alicia Language, Taya Randle, Kayla Satomi, Ryan Will, Sarah Wyse.

Sixth-graders -- Hannah McGuire, Brittani Park.


Sophomores -- Adam Flax, Kelli Veach, Grace Volker.

TMP Junior High

Eighth-grader -- Matthew Moeder.

Seventh-graders -- Tabitha Brandel, Shelby Knoll.