FHSU students, professor garner KPC awards

Special to The Hays Daily News

Thirty-one students and one faculty member in the Department of Communication Studies took home contest awards at the Kansas Professional Communicators Conference, which took place April 27 in Manhattan.

Additionally, Dakoka Tucker, St. John junior and media studies major, was the recipient of the $500 KPC scholarship given annually to an FHSU student. Tucker, who has been active in KFHS Radio and Television, said he plans a career in broadcast journalism.

There were 117 total entries in professional and collegiate divisions. Entries were judged by communication professionals in Colorado. Those earning first place in the state competition will advance to the National Federation of Press Women Communications Contest. Winners in the national contest will be recognized at the national conference Aug. 22 to 24 in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Linn Ann Huntington, professor of communication studies, took two second-place awards in news or feature release -- single release, and personal opinion columns. She also took third in personal opinion columns for a separate entry.

Winning students produced their work in journalism, public relations, advertising and desktop publishing classes taught by Huntington and Qingjiang Yao and Hsin-Yen Yang, both assistant professors in the communication studies department.

Student winners, listed in order of contest placement, are listed below, along with the title of their winning entry. In some categories, the winning entry was the result of a group project.

* Wendy Avila and Samie Pfeifer, first place, advertising poster/billboard/banner, "Heartland Community Theatre."

* Ashlee Fox, first place, collegiate writing/news, "Students Raise Funds." She also received an honorable mention for a marketing program or campaign for a new or existing product or service, "Big Brothers/Big Sisters."

* Liz Brack, second place, collegiate writing/news, "FHSU Students Raising Awareness."

* Courtney Moran, Anna Sweeney and Alfredo Ceron, advertising campaign, "Cancun Mexican Grill."

* Jayde Boyer, Brandi Wright, Nicole Hulteen and James Younger, second place, community/institutional/internal relations, "Community Involvement in Multicultural Education." Younger also received a third place for collegiate writing/news for "New Domestic Violence Advocate."

* Michael Iman, Erin Weathers, Tiffanee Heinzen and Ali George, second place, public service, "Student Memberships -- KS Name." George also received a third place in advertising poster/billboard/banner, "Peruvian Connection."

* Megan Colson, Jami Carlson, Kayla Dreiling and Danielle Stroud, second place, marketing program or campaign for new or existing product or service, "Habitat ReStore."

* Drew Waechter, Amanda Basye and Christina Smith, third place, advertising campaign, "KS-Name Campaign." Waechter also took third place in advertising poster/billboard/banner, "Peruvian Connection."

* Sydney Flock, Jamison Green, George and Waechter, third place, advertising poster/billboard/banner, "Peruvian Connection."

* Brytani Arnberger, Jamie Sproul and Kelcie Hamilton, third place, public service, "KS-Name Faculty Involvement Campaign."

* Adriana Wortley, Charles Guo, Vernon King Jr. and Fox, honorable mention, marketing program or campaign for new or existing product or service, "Big Brothers/Big Sisters."

* Tyler Parks, honorable mention, collegiate writing/news, "FHSU Students Plan Concert."