News from North Central Kansas Technical College

Special to The Hays Daily News

Students from the North Central Kansas Technical College Business Professionals of America, which includes the Information Technology, Telecommunications and Networking Technology and the Business Management (Beloit) Departments, recently competed in the National Leadership Conference for Business Professionals of America in Indianapolis on April 29 to May 3. The NCK Tech BPA sponsors, instructors Krystal Link and Robert McCreight (IT), Tom Magnett (Telecom), and Dean Franzen (Business Management), accompanied the students.

BPA helps prepare students for careers in business, computer and office occupations. Universities, colleges, technical colleges, community colleges and vocational schools participate in the post-secondary organization.

The NCK Tech BPA chapter earned several awards at the competition, including:

* Second -- Digital publishing with InDesign, Stephanie Raymer, Beloit.

* Fifth -- Computer network technology, Andrew Shipley, Lebanon.

* Fifth -- PC servicing and troubleshooting, Jeremy Guillot, Concordia.

* Seventh -- PC servicing and troubleshooting, Cris Hayes, Clay Center.

* Sixth -- Network design team, Hayes; Brian Johnson, Lebanon; Aaron Turner, Burr Oak; and John Haist, Miltonvale.

* Seventh -- Fundamentals of Web design, Guillot.

* Eighth -- JAVA programming, Drew Pfannenstiel, Ness City.

* 10th -- JAVA programming, Micheal Aspedon, Hays.

* Ninth -- Network administration using Microsoft, Guillot.

* * *

The Kansas State Board of Nursing has awarded a certificate of excellence to North Central Kansas Technical College in recognition of the nursing program National Council Licensure Examination pass rate for the 2013 testing year. KSBN confers the award to the state nursing programs which exceed the national pass rate for first-time test takers. The registered nurse and practical nurse programs at NCK Tech each received the honor. The ADN candidates achieved a 94.74-percent pass rate, the Beloit campus PN candidates achieved a 100-percent pass rate, and the Hays campus PN candidates achieved a 96.67-percent pass rate. The first-time pass rate for both programs exceeded state and national averages. The NCLEX examination measures the competencies needed to perform safely and effectively as a newly licensed, entry-level nurse and is the capstone of nursing program studies. Sandy Gottschalk is the nursing program department chairwoman of the NCK Tech Hays campus, which offers both RN and PN programs. Additional nursing faculty on the Hays campus are: Michele Unrein, Robin Hertel, Karen Kisner, Patricia Drees, Amy George, Beryl Dinges and Chandra Case. Patti Scott is the nursing program department chairwoman of the NCK Tech Beloit campus, which offers the PN program. Additional nursing faculty on the Beloit campus are: Annette Saint, Nicki Kasl, Christine Budke, and Rebecca Pellant.

* * *

NCK Tech recently was awarded a $600 grant from the Hays area Heartland Community Foundation's Healthy Living Fund. The grant funds will provide support for the annual Hays Community Health Fair, which is organized and staffed by the Hays campus NCK Tech nursing students and faculty. Sandra Gottschalk, NCK Tech Hays campus nursing department chairwoman, and Beryl Dinges, NCK Tech nursing faculty, were presented the award in April.

* * *

NCK Tech hosted the 10th annual Gas Metal Arc Welding competition in March on the Beloit campus. Students from NCK Tech, Beloit and Hays campuses; Salina Area Technical College; Central Community College of Hastings, Neb.; Manhattan Area Technical College; and Hutchinson Community College participated in the event. During the contest, students tested their technical knowledge with a GMAW written test and used their blueprint reading skills to fabricate various weldments and showcase their ability to weld in all positions using the GMAW process. The contest blueprints were developed by Nathan Lund and James Greenwood of AG-CO/Sunflower-Beloit, and presented to the students the day of the competition to ensure a fair and equitable contest. The written test was developed by Wes Mosier of Deshler, Neb. Weld inspection was conducted by Certified Welding Inspectors James Greenwood, Wes Mosier, Danny Fuller and Chuck Hatzenbueler.

Event sponsors and donations included: Lincoln Electric and Miller Electric (welding machines); ESAB Electric (wire); Caterpillar Tool Works, Wamego, AG-CO/Sunflower and Bohnert Welding (metal). Landoll Manufacturing provided lunch for the contestants, and prizes were donated by Matheson/Linweld, Hastings; Lincoln Electric; ESAB Electric; AG-CO/Sunflower, Beloit; Winkel Manufacturing, Glen Elder; Kohler Manufacturing, Beloit; and Webber Gross Welding.

NCK Tech students took top honors in the contest, securing eight of the top-10 scores: Curtiss Anderson, Glen Elder, first; Kyle Bogart, Concordia, second; Isaac Dreiling, Victoria, third; Wade Buck, Hays, fourth; Lane Smith, Hays, sixth; Zeph Larney, Gas, seventh; Clayton Beckman, Hill City, ninth; Joel Hayes, Rose Hill, 10th; and Jacob Arnold, Bennington, 11th.