NCK Tech students place at state competition

Special to The Hays Daily News

Forty-eight students from North Central Kansas Technical College participated in the 2013 Kansas Skills USA competition from April 24 to 26 in Wichita.

The annual competition featured more than 1,000 students from Kansas high schools, colleges and universities, competing in 64 leadership and technical skill categories.

The top three contestants in each category were determined by written and hands-on skills tests. NCK Tech students earned a total of 22 medals, including eight gold, seven silver and seven bronze medals.

Gold medal winners in each category earned the right to compete at the National Skills USA Championships, to be in Kansas City in June.

SkillsUSA is a national organization that annually serves more than 320,000 trade, technical, industrial and health occupation students in public high schools and two- and four-year colleges.

The partnership of students, teachers and industry representatives works together to establish industry standards and determine the skills required to ensure America has a skilled workforce.

NCK Tech student results are as follows:

Automotive Collision Repair

1st - Dawson Dittmer (Beloit)

Auto Parts Management

1st - Dylan Sauer (Hays)

2nd - Jared Roetter (Beloit)

Automotive Refinishing

1st - Chris Hadsall (Beloit)

2nd - Cody Jarmer (Beloit)

Automotive Service Technology

1st - Josiah Smith (Beloit)

2nd - Blake Seitz (Hays))

3rd - Kyle David (Hays)


3rd - Jordan Espinosa (Hays)

Electronic Technology

1st - Damon Bergman (Beloit)

2nd - Jason Self (Beloit)

3rd - Matthew Odom (Beloit)

Electronic Technology -- Residential Systems and Maintenance

1st - Brady Lund (Beloit)

Industrial Motor Controls

1st - Martin Dietz (Hays)

2nd - Dylan Jacobs (Hays)

3rd - Garret Teegerstrom (Hays)


2nd - Lucas Simmons (Beloit)

3rd - Garrett Bundy (Beloit)

Telecommunications and Cabling

2nd - Andrew Shipley (Beloit)

3rd - Devin O'Bryan (Beloit)

Vehicle Written Knowledge

3rd - Jared Roetter (Beloit)

Welding Fabrication Team

1st - Evan Barber, Kaleb Stroud, Derek Wehner (Beloit)