Dover dazzling in NCRA sprint victory


Special to The Hays Daily News

Park City, Kansas - June 16, 2014 - The National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products sprint car division was part of yet another "Hoosier Daddy" Father's Day spectacular and what a Sunday night special it was as Jack Dover took home the victory at 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas.

Jake Martens stated on the pole for the 30 lap feature with Luke Cranston on his outside and as the green flag fell it was Martens jumping out into the early lead. Martens would lead the first ten laps before tenth starting Dover caught the leader's rear bumper and took the lead on lap eleven.

The Springfield, Nebraska veteran approached slower traffic on lap seventeen and began lapping cars. It never slowed his pace and despite a late race caution when J.D. Johnson hit the back stretch wall, he would go on to become the first repeat feature winner on the 2014 race season.

Ninth starting Danny Wood would make his way through the field and come home second while Martens settled for third. Jeremy Campbell and Don Droud, Jr. traded slide jobs back and forth for position and would finish fourth and fifth respectively.

The NCRA sprint car division will take a week off before a huge two day weekend takes place both with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner region. This will take place on Saturday night, June 29, at Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, Kansas before both series head to 81 Speedway in Park City.

NCRA Sprints

81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas


20 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Luke Cranston (Ness City, Ks), 2) Don Droud Jr. (Lincoln, Ne), 3) Raymond Seeman (Jetmore, Ks), 4) Jack Dover (Springfield, Ne), 5) CJ Johnson (Quinter, Ks), 6) Jon Freeman (Salina, Ks), 7) Tyler Drueke (Eagle, Ne)

2nd Heat: 1) Michelle Decker (Guthrie, Ok), 2) Wyatt Burks (Topeka, Ks), 3) J.D. Johnson (Wichita, Ks), 4) Forest Sutherland (Cherryvale, KS), 5) Scott Lehman (Wichita, Ks), 6) Randy Woodside (Wichita, Ks), 7) Jake Greider (Haysville, Ks)

3rd Heat: 1) Jake Martens (Fairview, Ok), 2) Jeremy Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 3) Danny Wood (Norman, Ok), 4) Jeff Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 5) Kris Miller (Woodward, Ok), 6) Jordan Weaver (Woodward, Ok)

A Feature: 1) Jack Dover (Springfield, Ne), 2) Danny Wood (Norman, Ok), 3) Jake Martens (Fairview, Ok), 4) Jeremy Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 5) Don Droud Jr. (Lincoln, Ne), 6) Michelle Decker (Guthrie, Ok), 7) Luke Cranston (Ness City, Ks), 8) CJ Johnson (Quinter, Ks), 9) Jon Freeman (Salina, Ks), 10) Tyler Drueke (Eagle, Ne), 11) Jeff Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 12) Raymond Seeman (Jetmore, Ks), 13) Forest Sutherland (Cherryvale, KS), 14) Scott Lehman (Wichita, Ks), 15) Kris Miller (Woodward, Ok), 16) J.D. Johnson (Wichita, Ks), 17) Jordan Weaver (Woodward, Ok), 18) Wyatt Burks (Topeka, Ks), 19) Randy Woodside (Wichita, Ks), 20) Jake Greider (Haysville, Ks)