Johnson snags another URSS victory at Oberlin

By the URSS

OBERLIN, Kan. -- Lap traffic was the undoing of Ray Seemann on Friday night at Decatur County Speedway in Oberlin.

That led to C.J. Johnson -- the all-time career wins leader in the United Rebel Sprint Series -- capturing another hard-fought URSS victory at the 3/8-mile dirt oval in northwest Kansas.

Seemann started outside the front row alongside pole-sitter Zac Taylor and led from the drop of the green flag. The Jetmore driver slowly created a sizable lead as Johnson moved into the runner-up spot on lap three. Johnson began reeling in Seemann, and with four laps to go, the Quinter driver made the pass as Seemann got bottled up in lap traffic.

"He got to him fairly quick, but I'm not sure he had anything for him until he caught him in lap traffic," URSS founder Rick Salem said.

Seemann tried to make a pass down low on Johnson a half lap later, but couldn't get his sprint car to stick to make the maneuver. The race went caution-free. "There was good racing all the way through it," Salem said.

Luke Cranston, who won earlier this season at Oberlin, started fourth, alongside Jake Bubak. But Cranston fell off the track on the first lap, then had to rally from the back of the field to finish fifth.

Johnson went on to win by three car lengths. Seemann was second, with J.D. Johnson -- who started sixth -- in third and Bubak in fourth. Taylor was sixth.

Johnson won the Keizer Aluminum Racing Wheels Hard-Charger award, going from fifth to first.

Zac Taylor won the chicken chase race, where drivers drove their car two laps around the track, then unbuckled and hopped out of the car and caught a chicken in a pen. Afterwards, the drivers then raced across the finish line in the timed event.

* The Rebels were scheduled to race at Holyoke, Colo., on Saturday night, but rain washed out the rest of the program after heat races were completed.

Feature results

1. C.J. Johnson, 2. Ray Seemann, 3. J.D. Johnson, 4. Jake Bubak, 5. Luke Cranston, 6. Zac Taylor, 7. Mark Walinder, 8. Darren Berry, 9. Keefe Hemel, 10. Greg Reiners, 11. Ken Lutters (DNF), 12. Ron Hadley (DNS).