Large field returns to RPM Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

HAYS, KS (April 6)--Nearly 160 race teams returned to RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, for the second night of the Sunflower Classic on Saturday evening, April 6, and three drivers made a return appearance to victory lane.

Four different drivers led the 12-lap DK Ranch IMCA Sport Compact feature, but it was Daniel Dembowski of Grand Island, NE, passing Dean Herzog on lap 8 to hold on and win his second feature in a row. Dean Herzog held off Art Herzog for the runner-up spot, followed by Brandon Lobdell and Michael Smith.

The second driver to win back-to-back was hometown driver Cody 'Bam Bam' Graham in the Rebel Tank Service IMCA Hobby Stock A-main. Russ Specht of Hastings, NE, led the first 10 laps when a caution came out for a stalled G.W. Fuller. On the restart, 3 cars got together on the backstretch, which sent Iowa's Jeff Fusselman for a rollover. He was okay but done for the night. After the restart, Graham passed Specht on lap 12 and held off Iowa's Kurt Hansen for a trip back to victory lane. Austin Tammen finished third, followed by 'The Wild Child' Garrett Hager and Specht.

Andy Barton led the opening lap of the 20-lap Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Northern Sport Mod main event, but was passed on lap 2 by Cory Struckhoff. Struckhoff led until lap 8 when 'The Frye Man' Tyler Frye took a lead he would not relinquish and scored his second win in as many nights. Struckhoff was second, trailed by Austin Carter, Blaine Walt and Clay Money.

Polesitter Terry Cunningham led the opening lap in the Advantage Glass Plus 25-lap IMCA Stock Car feature. Then after a caution on lap 2, Casey Woken passed Cunningham on the restart and held the top spot for a couple of laps. But on lap 4, Mike Nichols of Harlan, IA, who broke a transmission the night before, took the point and held on for the rest of the race which went caution free the remaining distance. The hard charger was Justin Temeyer of Independence, IA, who had to run a B-feature to make the main event. Temeyer started 21st and finished second, with Perry Misner, Geoff Jermark and Jason Rogers rounding out the top five in the Dirt Track Central Great Plains Series event.

The final race of the night was the S & W Supply 25-lap IMCA Modified A-feature, paying $1,000 to win. Jeremy Frenier of Fort Morgan, CO, took advantage of his pole starting position and jumped out to the lead, trying to capture the winner's check for the second night in a row. Eddie Belec stayed close to Frenier and the top duo caught up to traffic on lap 15. Frenier was able to keep a couple of cars between himself and Belec when a caution waved on lap 23 for a multi-car tangle. Frenier lined up on the point on the restart, with Belec and Jesse Sobbing, last year's northern sport mod national champion, right behind. When the green flag returned, Sobbing, of Glenwood, IA, shot to the front and was first to the checkers. Frenier held off Belec for second, with Jeremy Zorn fourth and 'Dynamite' Dylan Sherfick fifth.

Racing returns to RPM Speedway on Saturday evening, April 20. Race time is 7:00 p.m.


IMCA Modifieds

B-Feature #1 (top 4 advance): 1. Travis Sherfick, 2. David Murray Jr., 3. Marty Clark, 4. Greg Gustus, 5. Jason Schoenberger, 6. Brian Calhoon, 7. Mike Lunow, 8. Barry Maupin, 9. John Burrows Jr., 10. Grant Florence, 11. Chris Bragg (DNF), 12. John Fose (DNF).

B-Feature #2 (top 4 advance): 1. Rob Day, 2. Ryan Heger, 3. Randy Wilson, 4. Danny Concelman, 5. Bill Albin, 6. John Fabrizius, 7. Charles Stryker, 8. Matt Henke, 9. Taos Leighton (DNF), 10. Chadd Brown (DNF), 11. Brad Keller (DNF), 12. Danny Keller (DNF).

B-Feature #3 (top 4 advance): 1. Corey Lagroon, 2. Cody Gearhart, 3. Dylan Sherfick, 4. Mike Petersilie, 5. Troy Plummer, 6. Brady Coen, 7. Craig Colgin, 8. Tyler Iverson, 9. Jason Nelssen, 10. Scott Brown, 11. Tyler Wilson, 12. Kale Beavers (DNS).

A-Feature: 1. Jesse Sobbing, 2. Jeremy Frenier, 3. Eddie Belec, 4. Jeremy Zorn, 5. Dylan Sherfick, 6. Rodger Peck, 7. Joe Cleveland, 8. Cody Gearhart, 9. David Murray Jr., 10. Shannon Maughlin, 11. Travis Sherfick, 12. Ryan Heger, 13. Tim Watts, 14. Charley Brown, 15. Mike Petersilie, 16. Danny Concelman, 17. Rob Day, 18. Greg Gustus, 19. Nate Moore, 20. Kyle Rohleder, 21. Corey Lagroon (DNF), 22. Corey Burch (DNF), 23. Marty Clark (DNF), 24. Randy Wilson (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars

B-Feature #1 (top 4 advance): 1. Lance Borgman, 2. Jeff Tubbs, 3. Justin Temeyer, 4. Michael Pepper, 5. Billy Phelps, 6. Tyrel Smith, 7. Josh Crombie, 8. Cody Zimmerman, 9. Bob Rutherford, 10. Cody Williams, 11. Eric Kinderknecht (DNS).

B-Feature #2 (top 4 advance): 1. Bruce Plumisto, 2. Michael Meyer, 3. Barrett Wagoner, 4. Pat Bedore, 5. Tony Steenson, 6. Keith Riley, 7. Justin Lewis, 8. Ozzie Romero, 9. Dalton Bauer (DNF), 10. Jed Williams (DNF), 11. Jason McCartney (DNF).

A-Feature: 1. Mike Nichols, 2. Justin Temeyer, 3. Perry Misner, 4. Geoff Jermark, 5. Jason Rogers, 6. Casey Woken, 7. Lance Borgman, 8. Jerry Phillips, 9. Jeff Tubbs, 10. Jesse Taylor, 11. Jeff Joldersma, 12. Barrett Wagoner, 13. Nick Tubbs, 14. Michael Pepper, 15. Scot Granzella, 16. Dan Walker, 17. Tyler Tipton, 18. Kyle Clough, 19. Pat Bedore, 20. Terry Cunningham (DNF), 21. Jason Davis (DNF), 22. Michael Meyer (DNF), 23. Bruce Plumisto (DNF), 24. Luke Pfannenstiel (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

B-Feature #1 (top 4 advance): 1. Austin Walker, 2. Terry Blessing, 3. Jerrod Couse, 4. Tyler Watts, 5. Brian Williams, 6. Jeremy Couse, 7. Phillip Goering (DNF), 8. Jake Krone (DNS).

B-Feature #2 (top 4 advance): 1. Clay Money, 2. Austin Carter, 3. Ryan Moser, 4. Joe Couse, 5. Jeremy Sigler, 6. Ryan Stevenson, 7. Cory Monsell, 8. C.J. Pfannenstiel (DNF), 9. Mark Axelson (DNS).

A-Feature: 1. Tyler Frye, 2. Cory Struckhoff, 3. Austin Carter, 4. Blaine Walt, 5. Clay Money, 6. Clay Sellard, 7. Josh Appel, 8. Kurtin Pihl, 9. Bart Baker, 10. Kaid Calhoon, 11. Joe Couse, 12. Brendon Damon, 13. Ryan Moser, 14. Jeremy Couse, 15. Austin Walker (DNF), 16. Terry Blessing (DNF), 17. Mike Appel (DNF), 18. Andy Barton (DNF), 19. Dustin Daniels (DNF), 20. Brian Williams (DNF), 21. Tyler Watts (DNF), 22. Jerrod Couse (DNF), 23. Jeremy Sigler (DNS), 24. Ryan Stevenson (DNS).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

B-Feature (top 8 advance): 1. Aaron Gray, 2. Austin Tammen, 3. Eric Ross, 4. W.D. Matteson, 5. Leon Pfannenstiel, 6. Jason McIntyre, 7. Colton Pfeifer, 8. Josh Hrabe, 9. Donnie Werth, 10. Wayne Robben, 11. Trevor Schmidt, 12. Lucas Louder.

A-Feature: 1. Cody Graham, 2. Kurt Hansen, 3. Austin Tammen, 4. Garrett Hager, 5. Russ Specht, 6. Ron Wehling, 7. Aaron Gray, 8. Tommy Fose, 9. G.W. Fuller, 10. Daniel Irwin, 11. Eric Ross, 12. Leon Pfannenstiel, 13. Colton Pfeifer, 14. Jason McIntyre, 15. Brian Stich (DNF), 16. Jeromy Wagner (DNF), 17. Jason Fusselman (DNF), 18. Dillon Thompson (DNF), 19. W.D. Matteson (DNF), 20. Josh Hrabe (DNS).

IMCA Sport Compacts

A-Feature: 1. Daniel Dembowski, 2. Dean Herzog, 3. Art Herzog, 4. Brandon Lobdell, 5. Michael Smith, 6. Kirk Pfannenstiel, 7. Vincent Jasper, 8. Jarrett Pfannentstiel, 9. Tanner Chapin, 10. Shyla Hughes, 11. Madison Reed, 12. Kiowa Higdon, 13. Justin Rohr (DNF), 14. Andrew Solderlund (DNF), 15. Ed Jasper (DNF), 16. Tristen Barton (DNF), 17. Zach Olmstead (DNS).