Large field returns to RPM Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

HAYS, KS (May 4)--Over 130 race teams returned to RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, for racing action on Saturday evening, May 4.

Mike Petersilie jumped out to the early lead in the S & W Supply IMCA Modified A-feature, with Rodger Peck and 'Smokin' Joe Cleveland in tow. But after a lap 7 caution, Petersilie ran over some debris, ending his night, along with Marty Clark and Bill Albin. Peck then led the field back to green, but was passed one lap later by 'The Terminator' Travis Sherfick of Wakeeney. On lap 10, 'Dynamite' Dylan Sherfick passed his older brother, only to have the caution wave, giving Travis the lead back on the restart. Travis then held off Dylan the rest of the distance to score the win. Cody Gearhart finished third, followed by Corey Lagroon and Nate Moore. 'Rapid' Ronnie Hill won the B-feature, with Travis and Dylan winning heat races, along with Cleveland.

Mike Nichols of Harlan, IA, made the long haul pay off with a win in the Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature, his second at Hays this season. Pat Bedore led the opening lap, then was passed by Jason Davis. Jason Rogers took the lead after a lap 4 caution and led through lap 9. Then at the halfway mark of the 20-lap race, Nichols made the winning pass and held on to the checkers. Rogers finished a close second, followed by B.J. Wagoner, Jeff Tubbs and Shaylon Holloway. Heat race winners included Vanover, Nolan Remus, Nichols and Tubbs.

Clay Money led the first 2 laps of the Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Northern Sport Mod main event, then was passed by Blaine Walt on lap 3. Walt led the 24-car field through lap 12, when hometown driver Trenton Kleweno took over the top spot on the following lap. On lap 15, current national point leader 'The Frye Man' Tyler Frye took the lead out of turn 4. The top 2 drivers were basically a dead heat on lap 16, then Kleweno regained the lead on lap 17 when Frye went high in turn 2. Kleweno made his way to victory lane, trailed by Frye, Walt, Money, and B-feature winner Cory Struckhoff. Money, Walt, Brian Fink and Jerrod Couse were victorious in the heat races.

'The Hit Man' Trevor Schmidt was a man on a mission in the Rebel Tank Service IMCA Hobby Stock division. After failing to qualify for the A-feature in his heat race, Schmidt had to run the B-feature, which he won to advance to the A-main. After starting 17th in the 20-car field, Schmidt slowly worked his way through the field and passed leader 'Neon' Leon Pfannenstiel and held on to score his first ever hobby stock feature win. Heat 3 winner 'Bam Bam' Cody Graham got by heat 4 winner Pfannenstiel to claim the runner-up position, with Aaron Honas and Ron Wehling finishing fourth and fifth. T.C. McKain and 'Cheeseburger' G.W. Fuller also won heat races.

Defending track champion Monte Honas of Ellis took the lead on lap 7 of the D.K. Ranch IMCA Sport Compact feature from Brandon Lobdell and drove away after making his first appearance of the season at RPM Speedway. Michael Smith finished third, followed by Shyla Hughes and Dean Herzog. Honas and Lobdell won the heat races.

It was Merchants Night with several area merchants offering free tickets to race fans.

Racing returns to RPM Speedway on Saturday evening, May 18. It will be Armed Forces Night. Race time is 7:00 p.m.


IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Travis Sherfick, Dylan Sherfick, Joe Cleveland.

B-Feature: 1. Ronnie Hill, 2. Jerry Teel, 3. Jesse Richter, 4. Chadd Brown, 5. Matt Henke, 6. Milo Lippelmann, 7. Chris Heller, 8. Taos Leighton (DNF), 9. Daniel Krieger (DNF), 10. Kyle Rohleder (DNF).

A-Feature: 1. T. Sherfick, 2. D. Sherfick, 3. Cody Gearhart, 4. Corey Lagroon, 5. Nate Moore, 6. Rohleder, 7. Richter, 8. Brian Calhoon, 9. John Fose, 10. Rodger Peck, 11. John Fabrizius, 12. Teel, 13. Brown, 14. David Solberg, 15. Henke, 16. Lippelmann, 17. Heller (DNF), 18. Leighton (DNF), 19. Hill (DNF), 20. Bill Albin (DNF), 21. Marty Clark (DNF), 22. Cleveland (DNF), 23. Mike Petersilie (DNF), 24. Troy Plummer (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Kyle Vanover, Nolan Remus, Mike Nichols, Jeff Tubbs.

A-Feature: 1. Nichols, 2. Jason Rogers, 3. B.J. Wagoner, 4. J. Tubbs, 5. Shaylon Holloway, 6. Tyler Tipton, 7. Scot Granzella, 8. Nick Tubbs, 9. Remus, 10. Dustin McClurg, 11. Jason Davis, 12. Pat Bedore, 13. Keith Riley, 14. Eric Kinderknecht, 15. Tyrel Smith, 16. Michael Meyer, 17. Randy Killen, 18. Mike Kennedy, 19. Jason McCartney, 20. Trevor Thornton, 21. John Annon, 22. Bob Rutherford, 23. Luke Pfannenstiel (DNF), 24. Vanover (DNF), 25. Cody Williams (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Clay Money, Blaine Walt, Brian Fink, Jerrod Couse

B-Feature (top 8 advance): 1. Cory Struckhoff, 2. C.J. Pfannenstiel, 3. Colby Hagans, 4. Jeremy Couse, 5. Mike Appel, 6. Randle McRoberts, 7. Darren Crouch, 8. Cody Stefanski, 9. Philip Goering, 10. Mark Axelson, 11. Tony Fischer (DNF), 12. Lucas Miller (DNF), 13. Cody Pancake (DNF), 14. Cory Munsell (DNF), 15. Joe Couse (DNF), 16. Chance Miller (DNF), 17. Bentley Pywell (DNS).

A-Feature: 1. Trenton Kleweno, 2. Tyler Frye, 3. Walt, 4. Money, 5. Struckhoff, 6. Clay Sellard, 7. Fink, 8. Kurtis Pihl, 9. Daniel Gottschalk, 10. Matthew Crowell, 11. Josh Appel, 12. Pfannenstiel, 13. Jerrod Couse, 14. M. Appel, 15. Jeremy Couse, 16. Hagans, 17. Crouch, 18. Brenden Damon, 19. Kaid Calhoon, 20. Cory McGann, 21. Stefanski, 22. Chris Heim (DNF), 23. Jeremy Sigler (DNF), 24. McRoberts (DNF).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: T.C. McKain, G.W. Fuller, Cody Graham, Leon Pfannenstiel.

B-Feature (top 4 advance): 1. Trevor Schmidt, 2. Mark Normandin, 3. Cody Ghumm, 4. Garrett Hager, 5. Aaron Gray, 6. Kent Tammen, 7. Darren Unrein, 8. Tommy Fose, 9. Eric Ross, 10. Roger Garrison, 11. Wayne Robben, 12. Lucas Louder, 13. Donnie Werth (DNF), 14. Justin Meserve (DNF), 15. Jake Eicher (DNF), 16. Colton Pfeifer (DNF).

A-Feature: 1. Schmidt, 2. Graham, 3. Pfannenstiel, 4. Aaron Honas, 5. Ron Wehling, 6. Jeromy Wagner, 7. Jacob Crowell, 8. Hager, 9. Travis Coop, 10. Normandin, 11. McKain, 12. Kelly Pihl, 13. Al Emmons, 14. Brian Stich, 15. Robert Emmons, 16. Jason McIntyre (DNF), 17. Daniel Irwin (DNF), 18. Fuller (DNF), 19. Colin Heim (DNF), 20. Ghumm (DNF).

IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Monte Honas, Brandon Lobdell

A-Feature: 1. Honas, 2. Lobdell, 3. Michael Smith, 4. Shyla Hughes, 5. Dean Herzog, 6. Art Herzog, 7. Allen Rice, 8. Tanner Chapin, 9. Kiowa Higdon, 10. Irvin Earl, 11. Andrew Soderlund, 12. Tristen Barton (DNF), 13. Madison Reed (DNF), 14. Kirk Pfannenstiel (DNF), 15. Ed Jasper (DNS), 16. Justin Rohr (DNS), 17. Jesse Prockish (DNS).