'Spiderman' wins four in a row at RPM


Special to The Hays Daily News

HAYS, KS (June 9)--'The Spiderman' Nick Tubbs of Colby has RPM Speedway's 3/8-mile figured out as he won his fourth IMCA Stock Car feature in a row in the five races held at the Hays, KS, facility this season on Saturday night, June 9.

B.J. Wagoner led the first half of the 20-lap Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature before 'The Hammer' Josh Hudson took the lead. Tubbs chased down Hudson the second half of the race and made the winning pass on lap 17 as he held on to the checkers. Wagoner finished third, followed by Pat Bedore and Terry Cunningham. Heat race winners were Wagoner and Dustin McClurg.

Point leader Jake Krone won his second Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Sport Mod feature in a row after taking advantage of a mishap late in the race. Clay Money took the lead at the drop of the green in the 15-lap race and was challenged most of the way by Trenton Kleweno. As the two leaders were lapping Tim Augustine on the backstretch on lap 13, Augustine got out of shape and Kleweno drove right over the top of Augustine's car, ending his night. Money led the field back to green but was passed by Krone the following lap to notch the victory. Jason Nelssen nipped Money at the finish line for second, with Blaine Walt and Clinton Hockersmith rounding out the top five. Money and Nelssen were victorious in the heat races.

Wakeeney's Matt Fabrizius led from green to checkered in the 20-lap caution plagued Teels Trucks IMCA Modified feature. Fabrizius took advantage of his outside pole starting position to jump to an early lead. The caution flag waved almost as much as the green, but each time Fabrizius was up to the task on the restart and held on for his first win at Hays this season. Geoff Jermark finished second, with 'The Terminator' Travis Sherfick, Corey Lagroon and Troy Plummer completing the top five. Brian Calhoun, Jermark, and Rodger Peck won the three heat races.

Tyrel Smith of Goodland led all 15 laps in the Rebel Tank Service IMCA Hobby Stock feature, and became the fifth different feature winner in the five races so far this season at RPM Speedway. Tommy Fose held off Brian Stich for the runner-up position in the caution free race, with Leon Pfannenstiel and Cody Ghumm rounding out the top five. Heat race victors included G.W. Fuller, Smith, and Aaron Honas, with Tony Slothower leading a 10 car field to the checkers in the B-feature.

Dean Herzog of Hays copied Smith's fete as he became the fifth different feature winner in the Steel Fabrications IMCA Sport Compact feature. Herzog started sixth but led the 14-car field at the flagstand on the opening lap and held off a late charge from point leader Monte Honas for the trip to victory lane. Shyla Hughes was third, trailed by Donnie Werth and Trevor 'The Hit Man' Schmidt. Honas and Tristen Barton won the two heat races.

It was 'Tough Enough to Wear Pink/Race for a Cure Night'. Polymer Services and Steve's Electric & Roustabout of Plainville was the evening's race sponsor.

Racing action returns to Hays on Saturday evening, June 23, at 7:00 p.m. The five regular divisions will be joined by the school buses.


IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat 1: Monte Honas, 2. Shyla Hughes, 3. Brian Lobdell, 4. Vincent Jasper.

Heat 2: 1. Tristen Barton, 2. Dean Herzog, 3. Art Herzog, 4. Donnie Werth.

Feature: 1. D. Herzog, 2. Honas, 3. Hughes, 4. Werth, 5. Trevor Schmidt, 6. V. Jasper, 7. Kirk Pfannenstiel, 8. Kiowa Higdon, 9. Barton, 10. Justin Rohr, 11. Jarrett Pfannenstiel, 12. A. Herzog, 13. Lobdell, 14. Ed Jasper (DNS).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat 1: 1. G.W. Fuller, 2. Cody Ghumm, 3. Garrett Hager, 4. Ron Wehling.

Heat 2: 1. Tyrel Smith, 2. Leon Pfannenstiel, 3. Tommy Fose, 4. Kent Tammen.

Heat 3: 1. Aaron Honas, 2. Brian Stich, 3. Daniel Irwin, 4. Jeromy Wagner.

B-Feature (top 5 advance): 1. Tony Slothower, 2. Cody Graham, 3. Joel Younger, 4. Austin Tammen, 5. Dustin Donaldson, 6. Aaron Gray, 7. Jeremy Couse, 8. Robert Emmons, 9. Wayne Robben, 10. Justin Meserve.

A-Feature: 1. Smith, 2. Fose, 3. Stich, 4. Pfannenstiel, 5. Ghumm, 6. Fuller, 7. Wagner, 8. Irwin, 9. Hager, 10. Graham, 11. Honas, 12. Wehling, 13. K. Tammen, 14. Mark Normandin, 15. Slothower, 16. Al Emmons, 17. Jason McIntyre, 18. Younger, 19. A. Tammen, 20. Donaldson (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat 1 1. Clay Money, 2. Blaine Walt, 3. Trenton Kleweno, 4. Jake Krone.

Heat 2: 1. Jason Nelssen, 2. Cory McGann, 3. Derrick Pfannenstiel, 4. Clinton Hockersmith.

Feature: 1. Krone, 2. Nelssen, 3. Money, 4. Walt, 5. Hockersmith, 6. Chris Heim, 7. McGann, 8. Kaid Calhoon, 9. Daniel Gottschalk, 10. Andy Barton, 11. Jeremy Sigler (DNF), 12. Pfannenstiel (DNF), 13. Tim Augustine (DNF), 14. Kleweno (DNF), 15. Cory Struckhoff (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat 1: 1. B.J. Wagoner, 2. Nick Tubbs, 3. Terry Cunningham, 4. Pat Bedore.

Heat 2: 1. Dustin McClurg, 2. Josh Hudson, 3. Bob Arnold, 4. Trevor Thornton.

Feature: 1. Tubbs, 2. Hudson, 3. Wagoner, 4. Bedore, 5. Cunningham, 6. McClurg, 7. Thornton, 8. Arnold, 9. Eric Kinderknecht, 10. J.R. McCreery, 11. Adam Balthazor, 12. Luke Pfannenstiel, 13. Monroe Schmidt (DNF).

IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: 1. Brian Calhoun, 2. Travis Sherfick, 3. Jerry Teel.

Heat 2: 1. Geoff Jermark, 2. Kyle Rohleder, 3. Corey Lagroon, 4. Matt Fabrizius.

Heat 3: 1. Rodger Peck, 2. David Solberg, 3. Troy Plummer, 4. David Murray Jr.

Feature: 1. Fabrizius, 2. Jermark, 3. T. Sherfick, 4. Lagroon, 5. Plummer, 6. Dylan Sherfick, 7. Murray, 8. Teel, 9. Shannon Maughlin, 10. Nate Moore, 11. Tim Watts, 12. Solberg, 13. Scott Brown, 14. Milo Lippelmann, 15. Rick Julian, 16. Heath Myers, 17. Matt Henke, 18. Justin Basart (DNF), 19. Peck (DNF), 20. Chadd Brown (DNF), 21. Ronnie Hill (DNF), 22. Calhoun (DNF), 23. Rohleder (DNF), 24. John Fose (DNF).