Smokin' Joe steals show again


Special to The Hays Daily News

SALINA, Kan. -- Last year's champion is showing no signs of letting up at the Salina Speedway.

Last week the veteran driver of Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modified car number 2 chased down the lead and took a very convincing win.

This week was much the same, as Joe Cleveland started nearly dead last in the field of twenty and rode through the pack to capture the lead with an amazing two car pass towards the end of the race to make it two in a row.

Brian Casey led from the drop of the green for quite some time while being hounded by Brian Knoell. Cleveland reeled both in and executed a slingshot move out of turn two to take the lead, flying by both drivers. Knoell followed at the checkered in second, with Casey third and Danny Morrison Jr. fourth. Casey, Scott Miller, and Morrison won the heat races.

The Iceman continued his title reign as well in the Friesen Chevrolet Late Models presented by M&H Motors. Delbert Smith took the lead away from Justin Kinderknecht near the midpoint and held off his hard-charging teammate Darrick Klima for the win. Klima finished second with Kinderknecht third, and Tyler Bradshaw fourth. Jimmy Segraves and Smith won the heat races.

Kurtis Pihl made it two in a row as well, piloting his Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Northern SportMod to another victory. Tyler Frye and Matthew Crowell picked their ways through the field after starting in the fifth and seventh rows respectively to end up second and third. Seth Schroer rounded out the top four. Jeremy Sigler, Chad Markley, and Brandon Belvill won the heat races.

Brandon Gray had no problem handling the Auto House Mod Lite feature, with the defending champion posting a victory. Corbin Pickerill had to settle for second, with Danny Morrison Jr. third, and teammate Brian Davidson in fourth. Nick Watts and Chris Unruh won the heat races.

Clark Fritz made his return to the Salina Speedway in grand fashion, piloting the Roberg number 7R to victory in the T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stock division. Brian Dunsworth followed in second with Stacey Huffman third, and Wayne Juenemann fourth. Huffman and Fritz won the heat races.

Racing continues next Friday night at the Salina Speedway with race time set for 8PM. The Late Models, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Northern SportMods, Mod Lites, and IMCA Hobby Stocks will be in action.