Championships to be determined tonight at Salina


Special to The Hays Daily News

SALINA, Kan. -- A full season has been nearly completed for the third straight year at the Salina Speedway as tonight's Championship night showcases a long summer of achievements with the crowning of six out of seven division Champions.

The closest points battle exists in the Late Model division where only four points separate teammates looking for the win. The "Iceman" Delbert Smith looks to put away his second Championship in a row but will have to hold off Darrick Klima in a crate vs. open motor showdown. Klima would need to finish five positions ahead of Smith to win the title. Justin Kinderknecht also is still in the hunt and possibly pass both if the pair of 92s have bad luck as he sits only fifteen points back from first. A little further back is a battle for the fourth position between Daniel Smith and Jimmy Segraves, who are twelve points apart.

Mike Traskowsky is looking forward to capturing his second Championship in three years in the IMCA Hobby Stock division. Aaron McBride, his closest contender, is still within striking distance, but would need to finish fourteen positions in front of Traskowsky to capture the title. GW Fuller sits thirty-two points away from first and will need to hold off a hard-charging Brian Stich, eight points behind Fuller, to finish third. Pete Beaumont sits comfortably in fifth.

Hutchinson young gun Brian Dunsworth will likely capture the title in the Mini Stock division by starting his heat race. Stacey Huffman is still mathmatically able to pass Dunsworth, but only if he were unable to start the heat or feature as she sits twenty-four points back. Russell Roberg will hold down the third position solidly with Stephanie Unruh and Elliott May finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

By starting his heat race Justin Kinderknecht will capture his second Championship in three years in the Mod Lite division. The battle to watch will be for second between Brandon Gray and Nick Watts as both are tied thirty-six points back from Kinderknecht. Bam Ayers could sneak in and pass both for second as he's only eleven points back in fourth, with Brian Davidson thirteen back from Ayers in fifth.

"Smokin'" Joe Cleveland will also capture his second Championship in a row in the Modified division by starting his heat race tonight. Once again the battle will be for second as Corey Lagroon and Brian Knoell are separated by only one point. Mike Petersilie sits further back in fourth while last week's first time winner Shannon Johnson sits firmly in fifth place.

One driver has such a huge lead that he actually wrapped up the points title last week. Belleville's Tyler Frye capped off a dominant season last week and will easily be the 2013 SportMod Champion. As is the case with the other divisions the battle for second is tight, with Mark Franklin holding a four point edge on Kurtis Pihl. Tyler Post will likely finish the season in fourth place while Fred Traskowsky will have to hold off Brandon Belvill for fifth with only six points separating them.

Last week crowned the first of seven Champions as Duane Toyne captured the Street Stock title. The division will be in action tonight, but not for points only a fun money race.

Hot laps are scheduled to start at 7:15PM with racing to follow.

Admission for adults is $12 while kids 17 & under are FREE. Pit passes are $25.

For more information on the Salina Speedway:

Visit www.racesalinaspeedway on the web

Like us on Facebook at

Follow us on Twitter at @salinaspeedway1

Join our text blasts by texting SALINA to 99000