Mills, Vanover, Chambers, Beaumont, Stoner capture Spring Fling titles


Special to The Hays Daily News

SALINA -- With weather threatening the Salina Speedway most of the week racing got down to business on Friday night April 13 for night one of the Spring Fling. The violent severe weather forecasted for Saturday meant the second day of the event was cancelled, therefore crowning Champions on the first night.

Jeremy Mills made the trip earlier in the week to pick up a new car from headlining sponsor of the IMCA Modifieds, Belleville Motorsports, and put it in Victory Lane in its first race. Reigning track champion Danny Morrison Jr. started from the pole position but was quickly challenged by Mills and Corey Lagroon. Morrison began falling back and eventually out with mechanical problems, leaving Mills and Lagroon to square off up front. At times the two leaders battled side by side during the 25 lap feature event, with Lagroon briefly taking the lead before a caution bunched up the field and put Mills back in front. Lagroon challenged repeatedly but ran out of time with Mills crossing the finish line first, followed by Lagroon, Troy Johnson, Mike Petersilie, and Nate Moore. Rodger Peck, Mills, and Lagroon won the heat races earlier in the night.

With only a dozen cars in the pits Beatrice's Kyle Vanover stole the show in the Coors Light IMCA Stock Car division. Vanover started seventh but quickly worked his way to the lead and eventual win to claim his second "Fling" Championship in the last two events. Eric Rempel began reeling in Vanover towards the finish but settled for second, followed by Nolan Remus, Jim Powell Jr., and Justin Murdock. Austin Carter and Vanover won the heat races.

Dustin Daniels looked to be the man to beat in the Xtreme Motorsports IMCA Northern SportMod feature until Jeremy Chambers caught up late in the race. The feature was plagued with cautions due to lost springs and suspension components but when the dust settled Chambers had worked past Daniels for the win and the champion's loot. Daniels finished second, followed by Seth Schroer, Dan Smith, and Brian Fink. Tyler Frye, Chambers, and Daniels won the heat races.

The Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stocks put on a wild race for their 20 lap feature. GW Fuller worked his way into the lead but was hounded quickly by Roy Armstrong. The two made contact entering turn 1 near the halfway point, sending Armstrong to the pits for rough driving and Fuller to pit road to change a flat. Pete Beaumont then took over and had to hold off three wide challenges from a number of drivers to end up in Victory Lane. Brian Stich would finish second, Tony Slothower third, Mark Normandin fourth, and Jake Hedlund fifth. Fuller and Hedlund won the heat races.

Braden Stoner, one of the youngest drivers in the T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stock division, showed great skill in capturing the win in the division, his first at the Speedway. Stoner held on while Stacey Fuller finished second, Dallas Dunn third, Rooster Rice fourth, and David Heil fifth. Wade Heller and Brendon Thiessen won the heat races.

The regular season opens next Saturday night April 20 with the return of the Friesen Chevrolet Late Model division on a bi-weekly basis. Joining them will be the Belleville Motorsports IMCA MOdifieds, Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars, Xtreme Motorsports IMCA Northern SportMods, Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stocks, and T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stocks. Race time is set for 8PM.

For more information on the Salina Speedway please visit