10 dates set for IMCA Sunoco stock cars and new series

MINNEAPOLIS, Kan. (March 21) - Ten races take IMCA Sunoco Stock Car drivers following the inaugural Dirt Track Central Goodland Machine Great Plains Series to five different tracks in Kansas this season.

The biggest prize on the circuit is $2,500, to be paid out April 13, night two of the Stroker Ace Nation ­als at Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway.

Features paying $750 to win are April 5 and 6 during the Sunflower Classic at RPM Speedway; April 7 at WaKeeney Speedway's Spring Fling; and July 14 at RPM during the Ellis County Fair.

The five $600 to win shows are May 26 and 27 during WaKeeney's Memorial Weekend; July 27 and Aug. 3 both at Thunder Hill Speedway; and Aug. 18 during Thomas County Speedway's Jeff Hart ­well Memorial show.

Title sponsor Goodland Machine provides the $2,000 point fund to be paid to the top 10 drivers in official series standings. The champion earns $500.

All events are draw/redraw. The Liberal race pays a minimum of $200 to start, the other nine se ­ries features a minimum of $100 to start.

"What this series is really aimed at is boosting car counts in the division and putting on good shows for the fans," explained Tour Director Matt Kvacik. "Maybe this will help get more drivers to move up from other classes to the Stock Car division."

Kvacik, partners with Justin Hopp in the Dirt Track Central website, promoted the Kansas Stock Car Shootout in May of 2011.

"We've enjoyed the Stock Car class for years and I believe this series is another way we can promote weekly racing," he explained.

IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, Arnold Motor Supply Northern Region, Allstar Performance State, special series and, where applicable, local track points will be awarded at all events.

There is a $10 draw fee at each series race. Contingencies will be given each evening. Questions about the series can be directed to Kvacik at 816 500-7564.

Great Plains Series Schedule

Fri ­day, April 5 at RPM Speedway, Hays; Saturday, April 6 at RPM Speedway, Hays; Sunday, April 7 at WaKeeney Speedway; Friday and Saturday, April 12-13 at Liberal Fairgrounds Speedway; Sunday, May 26 at WaKeeney Speedway; Monday, May 27 at WaKeeney Speedway; Sunday, July 14 at RPM Speedway, Hays; Sat ­urday, July 27 at Thunder Hill Speedway, Mayetta; Sat ­urday, Aug. 3 at Thunder Hill Speedway, Mayetta; Sun ­day, Aug. 18 at Thomas County Speedway, Colby.