Smith, Tubbs, Wadel repeat at Colby


Special to The Hays Daily News

Cooler temperatures and added moisture from mother nature added up for one fast race track on Sunday night. Fans were once again were treated to two and three wide racing throughout the evening. After a night of great racing, it laid the ground work for some close point battles for championship night on August 18th.

The Road Runner Manufacturing Econos saw their sixth different winner of the season. Ray West jumped out to an early lead and was able to hold on to it the entire race. For seven laps there was a great side by side battle for second between Rocky Baalmann and Alex West. With two laps left on the back stretch Alex West rolled several times bringing out the red flag. The race finished with a green, white, checkered finish. Top four Ray West, Eric Clayville, Ryan Baalmann, Ron Baalmann.

The Imca Sunoco Hobby Stocks put on a great show from start to finish. Matt Giesenhagen jumped out to the lead with the cars behind him racing two and three wide. The first couple of laps Giesenhagen had to hold off Kurt Kennedy and Jake Blackhart. The points leader, Richard Boon, was charging hard up the field until he got to high on the turn 3&4 wall. On the restart Tyrel "Young Gun" Smith and Cody "Bam Bam" Graham were on the coat tails of Giesenhagen. With only four laps left Graham spun his car in 1&2 putting him to the rear of the field. Smith was able to take advantage of the late restart and pass Giesenhagen coming out of turn two. With the misfortune of Boon and Graham, Colton Pfeifer left the track with a two point lead. Top four for the Strutt Insurance Services Hobby Stocks were Smith, Giesenhagen, Blackhart, Colton Pfeifer.

In the Karl Chevrolet Sport Mods, Warren Harkness and Cody Pancake led the field to green. After two laps, Daniel Gottschalk took over the lead. He quickly pulled away while "The Moneyman" Clay Money and Andy Barton worked their way through the field. Cody Pancake and Clinton Hockersmith had a great battle for that fourth spot. Towards the end of the race Money was reeling in Gottschalk but simply ran out of laps. Top four in the Murfin Drilling Sport Mods Gottschalk, Money, Barton, and Pancake

Brent Moss lead the Imca Sunoco Stockcars to the flag stand to start the feature. With the added moisture to the track the stock cars were able to race on multiple grooves. On lap three Jeff "The Gambler Tubbs was able to get around Moss and Mike Meyer for the lead. "The Flying Farmer" Jason Rogers and "The Catfish" BJ Wagoner followed his line to break into the top three. Rogers and Wagoner did what they could to reel in Tubbs during the caution free feature. The fifth spot had a close battle with a last lap slide job by Perry Misner in front of Moss. BJ Wagoner will enter the race with a seven point lead over Tubbs in the track championship battle. Tubbs will also be looking to wrap up the Great Plains Dirt Track Central Stockcar Series Championship presented by Goodland Machine. Top Four in the Sporer Land Development Stock Cars was Tubbs, Rogers, Wagoner, and Meyer

In the last feature of the night, fans were treated to two and three wide racing the entire 12 laps. "Sweet" Wheat Lippelmann to early point in the Xtreme Motorsports Imca Modifieds. Lippelmann had to fend of Todd Schwarz and "The Culigan Man" Darren Deloach. Charging hard from the last place starting spot was point leader Mike "The Natural" Wadel. Wadel was finally able to take over the race just shortly after the halfway mark. Behind Wadel was three almost four wide racing for the second spot. With two laps left Adam Morris was able to settle into the second spot and tried his best to catch the leader in a short period of time. The last race of the season Wadel and Morris will be competing in a close point battle as well. To make things more interesting, the modifieds will have a much larger car count when the Blood Sweat and Tears Racing Series comes to town. Top four Wadel, Morris, Deloach, and Nate Moore

Many fans stayed in the stands to watch to set of trains compete around the track. Special thanks to Ron's Automotive for providing both of the trains. Make sure to come to the Jeff Hartwell Memorial Race on August 18th at 7:00p.m. There will be added money in all five classes and a complete flyer can be found on or check out the facebook page.