Dazzling move helps Cranston win URSS John Keenan Memorial

By the URSS

OBERLIN, Kan. -- It was a move people were talking about after the race and even a day later.

And the move Luke Cranston put on Jeff Radcliffe and lap traffic propelled him to another United Rebel Sprint Series victory Saturday night at the John Keenan Memorial race at Decatur County Speedway in Oberlin.

Radcliffe had the top spot as he and Cranston entered lap traffic. But when the front-runners approached three lap cars, Cranston made a nifty move to take the lead.

"I dove under him and a lap car, and I made it work somehow," Cranston said. "It was one of those things where I wasn't sure it was going to work."

The move helped seal the win for Cranston.

"I was leading it when we came upon lap traffic three-wide," Radcliffe said. "I picked wrong, and Cranston got around me."

"You just have to take a chance and hope it works out," Cranston said. "I wasn't for sure if I could get it to play out, and it did. You just have to do what you do and hope for the best."

While Cranston took over the lead, the action intensified behind him between Radcliffe, Ray Seemann, Jake Bubak and C.J. Johnson

"It was one hell of a race," said series founder Rick Salem. "Cranston caught little Radcliffe, then put on a Bonzai move to get the lead. Then Radcliffe, Jake Bubak, Ray Seemann and C.J. but on a battle that I had never seen before."

That foursome battle until the checkered flag, with Seemann taking second and Radcliffe finishing third. Bubak was fourth, with Johnson in fifth.

"It's always awesome to get a win," Cranston said. "Dad and I talked about how hard it is to get a win anytime, no matter what series it is. With the points system, it's tough in the URSS. You put any of those guys up front, and it's tough to win it."

The start of the race was halted twice due to red flag situations for drivers. But once the field got going, it was smooth sailing.

"It was one of the best shows, and the race track was just perfect," Salem said. "It was fun to watch."

Cranston said he was breathing a sigh of relief after taking the win.

"Kirk (Reinert) had the thing dialed in," Cranston said. "At first, I wasn't sure if I could get it going. Then I found a groove and got going. I was able to survive lap traffic. I said a prayer afterward for helping us get through it."

John Webster was the B-main winner, while Seemann, Bubak and Richie Dewell won the heat races.

Darren Bowman won the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard-Charger Award, going from 19th to ninth.

Feature results

1. Luke Cranston, 2. Ray Seemann, 3. Jeff Radcliffe, 4. Jake Bubak, 5. C.J. Johnson, 6. Keefe Hemel, 7. Zac Taylor, 8. Richie Dewell, 9. Darren Bowman, 10. Mark Walinder, 11. Brian Hardman, 12. John Webster, 13. Nate Berry, 14. Aaron Ploussard, 15. Judd Sheaffer (DNF), 16. Butch Hardman (DNF), 17. Tommy Williams (DNF), 18. Darren Berry (DNF), 19. Reed Bernbeck (DNF).