Stories

Wakeeney Speedway announces 2013 schedule

By MIKE HUGHES

Special to The Hays Daily News

WAKEENEY, KS--Wakeeney (KS) Speedway has released their 2013 race schedule. Twelve race dates are on the schedule for the 3/8-mile oval.

The track will feature IMCA-sanction Modifieds, Stock Cars, Northern Sport Mods and Hobby Stocks as in the past. This year, the IMCA Sport Compacts will make 4 appearances to join the regular four classes, and sprint car fans will get their thrill when the United Rebel Sprint Series 305 sprint cars visit the speedway Memorial weekend.

The track will open with a Test & Tune on Friday, March 22, from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m.

The four regular classes will participate in the Spring Fling on Saturday, March 23, with a 3:00 p.m. start time. The modified feature will pay $1,000 to win and $100 to start. The stock cars will race for $750 to win and $100 to start and it will be a Dirt Track Central Plains Series event. Sport mods will run for $500 to win and $50 to start, with the hobby stocks competing for $400 to win and $50 to start. A rain date has been set for Sunday, March 24.

Racing will also be held on Sunday, April 7 (where the sport compacts make their debut); Sunday, April 14; and Sunday, April 28. All race dates in April will start at 5:00 p.m.

Racing returns on Sunday, May 5, at 6:30 p.m. The vintage cars will also be on hand.

The annual 2-day Memorial Challenge will be on Sunday & Monday, May 26-27, with the green flag waving each night at 6:00 p.m. The URSS sprints will compete on Sunday, with the regular four classes racing both nights.

The sport compacts return on Sunday, June 16, and the regular four classes compete on Sunday, June 30. Both dates in June will start at 6:30 p.m.

The lone race in July will be during the Trego County Fair on Wednesday, July 31, at 7:00 p.m. The modifieds, stock cars and sport mods will all be in action.

The final two races of the season will be on Sunday, August 25, at 6:30 p.m., and Championship Night on Sunday, September 15, at 6:30. The sport compacts will compete on the final two nights of the season with the regular four classes.