Fabrizius, Couse new faces in victory lane at WaKeeney Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

WAKEENEY, KS (June 24)--Wakeeney's 'Maniac' Matt Fabrizius and Joe Couse of Palco were new faces in the Jason Oil Company winner's circle at the Wakeeney (KS) Speedway Sunday evening, June 24.

Tim Watts led the first 4 laps of the 20-lap IMCA Modified feature before Fabrizius went to the top and rocketed around everyone to take the lead on lap 5 and drive away from the field for the win. Watts would finish second, followed by John Fose, and heat race winners 'Sweet' Wheat Lippelmann and Jerry Teel. Fabrizius became the 8th different modified feature in the 8 races held at the 3/8-mile oval this season.

Couse started on the outside pole of the 15-lap IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature, took the lead on the opening lap and led the entire distance for the trip to victory lane. Kaid Calhoon, Josh Appel, Clay Money and Blaine Walt rounded out the top five. Chris Heim, Daniel Gottschalk, and Couse won the three heat races.

The IMCA Hobby Stock feature was an exciting race all the way through the field. 'Neon' Leon Pfannenstiel took the lead at the drop of the green and continued to lead the 14 car field at the halfway mark of the 15-lap race. After a caution on lap 10 for a spinning Jason McIntyre, Pfannenstiel led the field back to green but was passed after the restart by Brian Stich. Stich led 2 laps before point leader 'Bam Bam' Cody Graham of Hays took command on lap 12. The race was red flagged on lap 14 when EMTs were summoned to the grandstand for medical attention. That set up a green-white-checkered finish and Graham, who won the night before at RPM Speedway in Hays, held on for his second win at Wakeeney this season. Heat race victors Stich and Pfannenstiel finished second and third, trailed by 'The Wild Child' Garrett Hager and Jacob Crowell.

'The Spiderman' Nick Tubbs of Colby drove around older brother Jeff Tubbs on lap 4 in the 15-lap IMCA Stock Car feature, that went caution free, and drove on for his 4th trip to the Wakeeney winner's circle. Heat race winner Jeff Tubbs won the battle for second over Terry Cunningham, while 'Sweet' Wheat Lippelman edged out Austin Carter for fourth.

The evening's race sponsor was Eagle Communications of Hays.

Racing returns to Wakeeney Speedway on Sunday, July 1, with the regular four divisions in competition with a special 7:00 p.m. start time.


IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat 1: 1. Leon Pfannenstiel, 2. Ron Wehling, 3. Garrett Hager, 4. Cody Graham.

Heat 2: 1. Brian Stich, 2. Jeromy Wagner, 3. Cody Ghumm, 4. Jacob Crowell.

Feature: 1. Graham, 2. Stich, 3. Pfannenstiel, 4. Hager, 5. Crowell, 6. Daniel Irwin, 7. Al Emmons, 8. Wagner, 9. Austin Tammen, 10. Tyrel Smith, 11. Jason McIntyre, 12. Ghumm (DNF), 13. Wehling (DNF), 14. Tommy Fose (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat 1: 1. Chris Heim, 2. Kaid Calhoon, 3. Blaine Walt, 4. Austin Walker.

Heat 2: 1. Daniel Gottschalk, 2. Trenton Kleweno, 3. Mike Appel, 4. Willie Wynn.

Heat 3: 1. Joe Couse, 2. Cory Struckhoff, 3. Josh Appel, 4. Clay Money.

Feature: 1. Couse, 2. Calhoon, 3. J. Appel, 4. Money, 5. Walt, 6. Wynn, 7. Kleweno, 8. Gottschalk, 9. Brian Conness, 10. Justin Dietz, 11. M. Appel, 12. Dan Lauer, 13. Jay Weigel, 14. Andy Barton (DNF), 15. Struckhoff (DNF), 16. Heim (DNF), 17. Mike Wadel (DNF), 18. Walker (DNF), 19. Clay Sellard (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat: 1. Jeff Tubbs, 2. Austin Carter, 3. Wheat Lippelmann, 4. Eric Kinderknecht.

Feature: 1. Nick Tubbs, 2. J. Tubbs, 3. Terry Cunningham, 4. Lippelmann, 5. Carter, 6. Kinderknecht, 7. Justin Lewis.

IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: 1. Wheat Lippelmann, 2. Brian Calhoon, 3. Tim Watts, 4. John Fose.

Heat 2: 1. Jerry Teel, 2. Matt Fabrizius, 3. Barry Maupin, 4. Troy Plummer.

Feature: 1. Fabrizius, 2. Watts, 3. Fose, 4. W. Lippelmann, 5. Teel, 6. Calhoon, 7. Rodger Peck, 8. Marty Clark, 9. Dylan Sherfick, 10. Plummer, 11. Shannon Maughlin, 12. Corey Lagroon, 13. Matt Henke, 14. Maupin, 15. Nate Moore, 16. Milo Lippelmann, 17. Scott Brown (DNF), 18. Travis Sherfick (DNF), 19. Kyle Rohleder (DNF).