Modified division tough at WaKeeney Speedway


Special to The Hays Daily News

WAKEENEY, KS (July 1)--The IMCA Modified division appears to be as competitive as ever this season as Dodge City's Mike Lunow became the ninth person to appear in the Jason Oil Company Winner's Circle in the 9 races held at the Wakeeney (KS) Speedway Sunday evening, July 1.

After driving away in his heat race, Lunow started on the pole in the 20-lap feature and led from green to checkered in the caution filled race. At the halfway point, heat two winner 'The Terminator' Travis Sherfick worked his way to second and closed in on Lunow. But Lunow ran the same line as Sherfick and he was not able to get by and settled for second. Nate Moore finished third, followed by Shannon Maughlin and Jerry Teel.

The IMCA Stock Car feature was the most exciting of the night as the top 5 drivers were neck and neck all 20 laps in the caution free race. Austin Carter took the early lead, only to give way to Colby's Jeff Tubbs on lap 5. Tubbs would lead the rest of the distance, but was constantly hounded by Terry Cunningham, Bruce Plumisto, Nick Tubbs and Carter. Second through fifth swapped positions several times but Cunningham won the battle for second, trailed closely by Plumisto, Nick Tubbs, and Carter. Cunningham and Jeff Tubbs won the two heat races.

Hoxie's Chris Heim became the first repeat winner in the IMCA Sport Mod division at Wakeeney. Heim passed Daniel Gottschalk on lap 9 of the 15-lap caution free feature and held off a late charge from Trenton Kleweno for a trip to victory lane. Josh Appel, Gottschalk, and 'Wild' Willie Wynn rounded out the top five. Josh Appel, Joe Couse, and Mike Appel were victorious in the three heat races.

Ron Wehling led the opening lap of the 15-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature, only to get passed on the following lap by heat two winner 'Neon' Leon Pfannenstiel. After a caution on lap 4, Pfannenstiel led the field back to green, but was passed by point leader 'Bam Bam' Cody Graham of Hays after the restart. Graham would lead the remaining distance for his third Wakeeney victory this season. Father-in-law Pfannenstiel held on to the runner-up spot, followed by Tyrel Smith, Brian Stich and Kirk Karst. Heat one winner G.W. 'Cheeseburger' Fuller was sixth.

The evening's race sponsor was Wheatbelt Distributors.

Racing returns to Wakeeney Speedway for a special show on Friday, July 13. The United Rebel Sprint Series 305 Sprint Cars make their only appearance of the season at the 3/8-mile oval, and will be joined by the IMCA Modifieds and the IMCA Hobby Stocks. The hobby stocks will be racing for added purse money. Race time is 7:30 p.m.


IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat 1: 1. G.W. Fuller, 2. Ron Wehling, 3. Daniel Irwin, 4. Tyrel Smith.

Heat 2: 1. Leon Pfannenstiel, 2. Brian Stich, 3. Kirk Karst, 4. Cody Graham.

Feature: 1. Graham, 2. Pfannenstiel, 3. Smith, 4. Stich, 5. Karst, 6. Fuller, 7. Wehling, 8. Garrett Hager, 9. Lee Sells, 10. Austin Tammen, 11. Michael Smith, 12. Robert Emmons, 13. Irwin (DNF), 14. Jake Blackhart (DNF), 15. Al Emmons (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat 1: 1. Josh Appel, 2. Daniel Gottschalk.

Heat 2: 1. Joe Couse, 2. Blaine Walt, 3. Dan Lauer, 4. Chris Heim.

Heat 3: 1. Mike Appel, 2. Willie Wynn, 3. Cory Struckhoff, 4. Trenton Kleweno.

Feature: 1. Heim, 2. Kleweno, 3. J. Appel, 4. Gottschalk, 5. Wynn, 6. Joe Couse, 7. Struckhoff, 8. Walt, 9. Clay Money, 10. Justin Dietz, 11. Lauer, 12. Kenny Schmidt, 13. Colby Hagans, 14. M. Appel (DNF), 15. Jerrod Couse (DNF), 16. Jay Weigel (DNF), 17. Brian Conness (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat 1: 1. Terry Cunningham, 2. Bruce Plumisto, 3. Wheat Lippelmann, 4. Keith Riley.

Heat 2: 1. Jeff Tubbs, 2. Austin Carter, 3. Michael Meyer, 4. Rich Beesley.

Feature: 1. J. Tubbs, 2. Cunningham, 3. Plumisto, 4. Nick Tubbs, 5. Carter, 6. Lippelmann, 7. Eric Kinderknecht, 8. Riley, 9. Beesley, 10. Meyer (DNS).

IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: 1. Mike Lunow, 2. John Fose, 3. Corey Lagroon, 4. Dylan Sherfick.

Heat 2: 1. Travis Sherfick, 2. Shannon Maughlin, 3. Wheat Lippelmann, 4. Matt Fabrizius.

Feature: 1. Lunow, 2. T. Sherfick, 3. Nate Moore, 4. Maughlin, 5. Jerry Teel, 6. Lagroon, 7. Fabrizius, 8. Fose, 9. Marty Clark, 10. W. Lippelmann, 11. Milo Lippelmann, 12. Matt Henke, 13. D. Sherfick (DNF), 14. Rodger Peck (DNF), 15. Rick Julian (DNF).