www.mozilla.com Weather Central

George and Arliss Koogle -1/25/2015, 3:05 PM

Joe and Cheryl (Sherri) Engel -1/25/2015, 3:05 PM

Larry and Peggy Sevier -1/25/2015, 3:04 PM

Stork Club (Jan. 25, 2015) -1/25/2015, 3:04 PM

Robert and Arlene Holloway -1/18/2015, 3:13 PM

myTown Calendar

[var top_story_head]

Jacob Brull named to Marquette University Dean's List

Published on -6/24/2012, 1:29 PM

Printer-friendly version
E-Mail This Story

MILWAUKEE, Wis. -- Jacob Brull, Hays, has been named to the Dean's List for the spring 2012 semester at Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wis. Brull is pursuing a bachelor of science degree in finance.

Marquette University is a Catholic Jesuit university that draws more than 11,500 students from all 50 states and more than 75 countries. In addition to its nationally recognized academic programs, Marquette is known for its service learning programs and internships.

* * *

Dustin Bittel, son of David and Holly Bittel, Ellis, will attend National Young Leaders Conference in Washington D.C.

Bittel will be a junior at Ellis High School in the fall. He is the grandson of Louise Barger, WaKeeney.

* * *

The Department of Philosophy at the University of Kansas recently announced Michael William Raven, Hays, was awarded the Brownstein-Young Award. He was nominated by his professors for the merit-based award for his analytical and writing accomplishments.

In conjunction with the award, he received $1,500. He was presented the award May 4 during the philosophy department's awards banquet in Lawrence. Raven is a 2009 graduate of Hays High School and will graduate from the University of Kansas in the spring of 2013 with a major in philosophy, a minor in history and a minor in international studies.

He is the son of Jason and Brenda Raven, Hays, and the grandson of Ruth Chilcott, Toronto, the late Bill Chilcott, and the late Meryl and Kathleen Raven.

* * *

LEAVENWORTH -- University of Saint Mary Academic Vice President Bryan Le Beau has announced the Spring 2012 Dean's Honor List. The following USM students ended the semester with a grade-point average of 3.5 or better:

* Preston Becker, Hays

* Katelyn Dinkel, Hays

* * *

WINFIELD -- Top scholars at Southwestern College in Winfield and at Southwestern College Professional Studies have been announced with the release of the dean's honor roll for the spring 2012 semester. Full-time students who earned grade-point averages of at least 3.7 were eligible for the honor.

Colton McNinch, Utica, is included on the list.

Southwestern College is a private institution granting undergraduate and graduate degrees and is affiliated with the United Methodist Church.

* * *

MANHATTAN -- Each year, Kansas Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture awards scholarships to college juniors and seniors studying in fields that benefit agriculture and rural Kansas. This year, 38 recipients will receive scholarships for the 2012-13 school year.

During the past 10 years, the foundation has awarded $166,151 in scholarships.

"Developing leaders for tomorrow requires an investment in today's youth," said director John Shostak.

* Dustin Aherin, Phillips County, is the winner of the $500 DeWitt Ahlerich Memorial Scholarship. This is a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund for junior or senior students attending Kansas State University and majoring in agronomy.

* Ashley Montgomery, Ellis County, is a winner of the $500 Godfrey and Emma Bahr-Miller Agriculture Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund for students attending a college in Kansas and majoring in a subject related to agronomy and conservation.

* Scholarships to Kansas technical and community colleges were awarded to Jay Rietcheck, Sheridan County, Dodge City Community College, and Jared Steiben, Ness County, Hutchinson Community College.

* Two $1,000 scholarships were awarded to junior and senior students enrolled at Fort Hays State University. Recipients are Chandra Devine, Rush County, and Audrey Werth, Ellis County.

* Twenty-two students were awarded collegiate scholarships that are available to students attending a Kansas college with a Kansas Farm Bureau Collegiate chapter. Students must be a Farm Bureau Collegiate member. Local recipients are Lauren Gassmann, Thomas County, who will attend Colby Community College, and Ashley Montgomery, Ellis County, who will attend Fort Hays State University.

* Morgan McNeal, Osborne County, who is attending K-State, received a collegiate scholarship.

* * *

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- To earn a spot on Drury University's dean's list, students must earn a grade-point average of at least 3.6 or higher while carrying a full-time course load of 12 or more semester hours.

Included in the honor roll was Roshelle Pfeifer, Victoria.

* * *

The Kansas Association of Broadcasters awarded $16,000 in scholarships to 10 Kansas students attending colleges and universities next school year. That brings the total scholarships provided broadcast students since 1988 to $270,000.

To earn the scholarship, students must be a Kansas resident attending a post-secondary institution, enrolled full time in a broadcast-related curriculum and maintain a 2.5 or higher grade-point average.

Scholarship recipients include Amanda Miller, Ness City, attending Dodge City Community College.

* * *

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Rockhurst University has announced the dean's list for the spring 2012 semester. The honor recognizes students who have achieved a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

The following students earned a place on the list:

* Anna Juenemann, Colby

* Jason Kramer, Hays

Rockhurst University is one of 28 Catholic Jesuit universities in the United States.

digg delicious facebook stumbleupon google Newsvine
More News and Photos

Associated Press Videos

AP Breaking News