www.mozilla.com Weather Central

Schmeidler-Ummel -2/1/2015, 4:41 PM

Powell-Linder -2/1/2015, 4:41 PM

Adams-Neff -2/1/2015, 4:41 PM

George and Arliss Koogle -1/25/2015, 3:05 PM

Joe and Cheryl (Sherri) Engel -1/25/2015, 3:05 PM

Larry and Peggy Sevier -1/25/2015, 3:04 PM

Stork Club (Jan. 25, 2015) -1/25/2015, 3:04 PM

myTown Calendar

[var top_story_head]

FHSU sorority wins national award

Published on -9/23/2012, 1:37 PM

Printer-friendly version
E-Mail This Story

Special to The Hays Daily News

Two Fort Hays State University students and four FHSU alumni of Alpha Gamma Delta fraternity attended the sorority's 47th International Convention in St. Louis, from July 18 to 21.

Students Julianne Essmiller, Hutchinson, and Ashley Wiles, Beloit, and alumni Teresa Davidson, Kirksville, Mo., Paul Keefer, Augusta, Linda Pacey, Wichita, and Kathie Taylor, Hays, attended.

More than 630 Alpha Gamma Delta members from across the United States and Canada attended the four-day event. Along with fraternity business, the international convention included recognitions, reunions, a philanthropy walk, educational speakers and workshops.

The FHSU Alpha Gamma Delta chapter was awarded the Alpha Gamma Delta Activities Award, which is given to the chapter that excels in a wide variety of activities and organizations on campus.

FHSU Epsilon Mu chapter was recognized as a Five-Star chapter for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership, 90 percent initiation, philanthropy and standards.

The chapter also earned the Jewel Society membership for the 12th year, donating $2,500 to the Alpha Gamma Delta Foundation. One of the first women's fraternities to establish a philanthropy, Alpha Gamma Delta internationally supports diabetes awareness and education.

Two FHSU students were awarded Alpha Gamma Delta Foundation scholarships of $750: Essmiller and Ellie Kasra, Lincoln, Neb., formerly of Hays.

Devoted to leadership, scholarship and community service, Alpha Gamma Delta Fraternity for Women was founded in 1904 at Syracuse University, Syracuse, N.Y., and has installed 188 chapters on campuses throughout the United States and Canada. Total membership is more than 160,000. The Fort Hays State University Epsilon Mu Chapter was installed in 1959 when Theta Sigma Upsilon merged with Alpha Gamma Delta.

* * *

Seven members of Epsilon Mu Chapter of Alpha Gamma Delta Fraternity at Fort Hays State University were awarded the Edna Coder/Alpha Gamma Delta Scholarship for 2012-13. These members were: Essmiller, Wiles, Kasra, Sammy Kochanowski, Hays, Carolyn Campbell, Wheat Ridge, Colo., Melissa Ramsey, Kenesaw, Neb., and Autumn Winters, Simla, Colo.

The Edna Coder/Alpha Gamma Delta Scholarship is awarded to the Alpha Gamma Delta women who have a 3.0 or better grade-point average and who are involved in the chapter and on the FHSU campus. The scholarship was named in memory of alumna Edna Coder, who was the FHSU chapter adviser in the 1960s and 1970s.

* * *

The Jamie Beth Keller Memorial Scholarship was awarded to two women of Alpha Gamma Delta sorority at Fort Hays State University for 2012-13. Campbell and Essmiller were the recipients. Campbell is a political science major with a concentration in pre-law. She is involved with the American Democracy Project, Order of Omega, is an orientation assistant and treasurer of Student Government Assocation. Essmiller is a sociology major and involved with Hays Neighbors, Order of Omega, Sociology Club and an SGA senator.

digg delicious facebook stumbleupon google Newsvine
More News and Photos

Associated Press Videos

AP Breaking News
AP Nation-World News

View this site in another language.

Kansas News