www.mozilla.com Weather Central

George and Arliss Koogle -1/25/2015, 3:05 PM

Joe and Cheryl (Sherri) Engel -1/25/2015, 3:05 PM

Larry and Peggy Sevier -1/25/2015, 3:04 PM

Stork Club (Jan. 25, 2015) -1/25/2015, 3:04 PM

Robert and Arlene Holloway -1/18/2015, 3:13 PM

myTown Calendar

[var top_story_head]

Area students selected for Farm Bureau scholarships

Published on -6/1/2014, 1:02 PM

Printer-friendly version
E-Mail This Story

Special to The Hays Daily News

MANHATTAN -- Each year, the Kansas Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture awards scholarships to college students studying in fields that benefit agriculture and rural Kansas. Thirty-five recipients have received $21,000 in scholarships for the 2014-15 school year.

During the past decade, the foundation has awarded more than $200,000 in scholarships.

"Developing leaders for tomorrow requires an investment in today's youth," said KFB Foundations Director Harry Watts.

The foundation awards four permanent, privately endowed scholarships: the DeWitt Ahlerich Memorial Scholarship, the Godfrey and Emma Bahr-Miller Scholarship, the Lester Crandall Memorial Scholarship and the Frank and Helen Bernasek Memorial Scholarship.

Seven scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled in Kansas State University's college of agriculture and majoring in a subject related to agriculture. Three KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled at Fort Hays State University.

Twenty-four Collegiate Farm Bureau members received scholarships for students attending a Kansas college with a Kansas Farm Bureau Collegiate chapter. One student received a scholarship to a technical college.

Area students are:

* Brady Rundel, Thomas County, a $1,000 scholarship to K-State

* Michelle Allen, Smith County, attending Cloud County Community College.

* Grace Hammer, Wallace County, attending Hutchinson Community College.

* Nicole Armbrister, Rooks County,

* Ashley Lorence, Smith County, attending K-State.

* Michaela Simmelink, Osborne County, attending K-State.

* Michael Schmidt, Thomas County, attending Seward County Community College.

digg delicious facebook stumbleupon google Newsvine
More News and Photos

Associated Press Videos

AP Breaking News
AP Nation-World News

View this site in another language.

Kansas News