The Kansas State High School Activities Association today released 2017-18 classifications based on 20-day enrollment numbers.

The classifications are good for all sports with the exception of football.

KSHSAA also announced classifications for football, which take effect during the 2018-19 school year.

Among the changes for this year are changes to Colby, Goodland, La Crosse, St. Francis and Atwood-Rawlins County from the area.

Colby, a longtime Class 4A school, switches to Class 3A, as does Goodland from 4A.

La Crosse jumps from 1A to 2A, along with St. Francis, while Rawlins County drops from 2A to 1A.

Hays High School remains in Class 4A, but is the largest school in the classification.

In football in 2017-18, the new alignments take effect.

The largest 32 schools will be Class 6A, the next 32 5A, followed by 32 in Class 4A. KSHSAA did away with 4A Divisions, along with splitting Class 2A and 1A.

Class 3A will consist of the next 48 largest schools, with 2A the next 48. The remaining 31 11-man playing schools will be classified as 1A.

There are 48 schools in Eight-Man Division I and 52 in Eight-Man Division II.

Hays High School will move up to 5A in 2018 for football. Thomas More Prep-Marian, Norton and Philipsburg all will be in 2A.