Purchase photos

Tiger student-athletes earn academic recognition


By The Hays Daily News

Thirty-three student-athletes at Fort Hays State University, including three from Ellis County, have been named to the MIAA academic honor roll for the fall 2013 semester.

Included on that list are three -- one each from football, volleyball and soccer -- who also earned scholar athlete honors.

To earn scholar athlete recognition, students must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5, have attended at least two terms at their school and earn all-MIAA honors in their respective sport.

The scholar athletes for FHSU this fall were Jesse Trent from Dodge City, a junior defensive lineman for the Tiger football team who has a 3.98 grade point average while majoring in biology; Jenna Ulrich from Luray, senior middle hitter, volleyball, 3.66 GPA, nursing; and Eric Hymer from Overland Park, junior defender, men's soccer, 3.61 GPA, marketing.

Honor roll student-athletes must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 and have attended at least two terms at their school.

Those from Ellis County making the MIAA academic honor roll this fall all were football players: Matt Erbert, a sophomore finance major who plays offensive line for the Tigers after graduating from Ellis High School in 2010; Zack Gaughan, a sophomore tight end majoring in physics and a 2011 graduate of Hays High School; and Drew O'Brien, a sophomore placekicker majoring in marketing and a 2012 graduate of Thomas More Prep-Marian in Hays.

Other football players making the honor roll list this fall were: Dalton Gould, fresh., Cheney; Garrett Holle, soph., Phoenix, Ariz.; Stephen Marcotte, sr., Blackwell, Okla.; Zach Nash, jr., Fort Lupton, Colo.; Alexander Schmidtberger, fresh., Topeka; Jared Stindt, soph., Belleville; and Keaton Tuttle, sr., Cherokee, Iowa.

Volleyball players on the MIAA academic honor roll were Sara Hewson, jr., Loveland, Colo.; Camille Hubert, jr., Garden Plain; Lacie Shoemaker, jr., Munden; Tara Hoekman, soph., Abilene; Samantha Ledy, jr., Colwich; Taylor Mares, jr., Fort Collins, Colo.; and Makenzie Weinman, sr., Phillipsburg.

Soccer players recognized for academic honors were: six men -- Joseph Albright, soph., Winfield; Diego Cabral, jr., Asuncion, Paraguay; Kent Freund, jr., Garland, Texas; Carlos Linares, jr., Aurora, Colo.; Jacob Sayre, soph., Wichita; Drew Wilson, redshirt fresh., Overland Park; and seven women -- Ember Albertson, soph., Littleton, Colo.; Jamie Babyak, jr., Austin, Texas; Kelsey Grey, soph., Littleton, Colo.; Gabrielle Makatura, soph., Lakewood, Colo.; Margaret Meier, jr., Olathe; Mallory Diederich, soph., Topeka; Laura Regnier, jr., Colorado Springs, Colo.

Academic teams for several fall sports that also compete in the spring aren't announced until after the spring semester.