Purchase photos

Stage set for spring elections



Hays Daily News

Ballots for the April 2 election are set.

Login Here to

Did you know? For just $0.99 you can get full site access today. Click Here


Hays Daily News

Ballots for the April 2 election are set.

Three Hays USD 489 at-large positions held by Sharon Befort, Alan Moore and Rich Kraemer are up for election.

Kraemer, first elected in 2001, is the only incumbent filing for re-election. Other candidates filing are Lance Bickle, Kathleen Fischer, Danielle Robben and Josh Waddell.

Three positions also are up for election on the Ellis USD 388 Board of Education. They are held by Brad Tebo, Jerry Pfeifer and Cheryl Helget.

Pfeifer has filed for re-election. Patricia L. Graff and John A. Walz also filed as candidates.

The Victoria USD 432 board has three four-year positions and one unexpired two-year term open. The four-year seats are held by Richard Braun, Alan Schulte and Patrick Nowak. The two-year position is the expired term of Patrick Scott who was appointed to the board following the 2011 election.

Nowak and Schulte filed for re-election. There are no other candidates

Their terms begin July 1.

With three Hays City Commission positions open in the upcoming April 2 general election, five candidates have stepped forward.

Filing for the positions include Shaun Musil; Dominic Pianalto; Eber Phelps, who was appointed to serve the remainder of Barbara Wasinger's term; Todd Gabel; and incumbent Ron Mellick. Incumbent Troy Hickman did not file.

The two candidates who receive the most votes will receive four-year terms, and the third place vote-getter will receive a two-year term. The successful candidates will be sworn in at the April 11 city commission meeting.

In Ellis, two candidates, Lyle Johnston, council member, and incumbent David R. McDaniel, have filed for mayor. Four candidates, Terry Redetzke, Brian Raub, Jolene Niernberger and John Leiker, have filed for three available spots on city council. Raub, Niernberger and Leiker serve on the council.

Incumbent Faith Scheck filed for city treasurer.

In Victoria, three council members and the mayor position are open. Curtis B. Unrein, incumbent, filed for mayor. Three incumbents, Kenneth A. Pfeifer, Jan Piesker and Leroy J. Schmidtberger, filed for the three open council seats.

In Schoenchen, incumbent Richard L. Klaus filed for mayor. For the five open council seats, Thomas Cole Dinges and incumbents Kevin J. Bieker and Jason Schneider filed.