Purchase photos

Cities to receive funds for Safe Routes to School projects


Eleven projects intended to encourage children to walk or bike to school have been selected for funding through the Safe Routes to School program administered by the Kansas Department of Transportation.

A total of $1.34 million will be allocated for projects including development of a Safe Routes to School plan and infrastructure construction.

The federal program, created in 2005, has several purposes:

* Enable and encourage children, including those who are disabled, to walk or bicycle to school.

* Make walking or biking to school safe and appealing.

* Facilitate projects that will improve safety and reduce traffic, fuel consumption and air pollution in the vicinity of schools.

The following cities will receive $15,000 each in Phase I funding, which covers the costs of developing a Safe Routes to School plan: Beloit, Erie, Hutchinson, Lyndon, Minneola and Stockton.

Receiving Phase II funding for infrastructure improvement are Chanute, Colby, Hillsboro, Hugoton and Rose Hill. Each city in this phase will receive $250,000 for projects such as sidewalk improvement or construction, pavement markings and signage.