MANHATTAN – Five of Kansas’ 105 conservation districts received service recognition awards during the Kansas Association of Conservation District’s (KACD) annual convention in November.

The five districts which received the Governor’s Conservation District Recognition were recognized for their excellence in helping local farmers and ranchers implement conservation practices and encouraging conservation in their areas. Conservation districts work with landowners to construct livestock waste systems, terraces, windbreaks, water wells, grass plantings and other conservation projects, as well as to provide education on methods of conserving natural resources.

The Governor’s Conservation District Recognition winners were:

• Area I: Rawlins County

• Area II: Hodgeman County

• Area III: McPherson County

• Area IV: Jefferson County

• Area V: Crawford County

Activities of the recognized districts were highlighted during the State Conservation Commission luncheon at the KACD Convention held Nov. 23, 2015, in Wichita. Recipients were presented a plaque signed by Governor Sam Brownback, recognizing the district’s commitment to conservation. Awards were presented by Kansas Secretary of Agriculture Jackie McClaskey.

“Kansas farmers and ranchers work hand-in-hand with their conservation districts to implement soil and water conservation efforts, and we are proud to recognize their achievements,” said McClaskey. “In agriculture, we know that quality soil and water are precious resources which require care in order to raise healthy animals and grow crops today, and to pass these resources on to future generations.”

The conservation district is the primary local unit of government responsible for the conservation of soil, water and related natural resources within each county. KACD is a voluntary, nongovernmental, nonprofit organization established in 1944 for the purpose of establishing and supporting programs designed to advance the conservation and orderly development of Kansas land, water and related resources. The Kansas Department of Agriculture Division of Conservation works closely with local conservation districts and the KACD.

For more information about conservation in Kansas, contact the Kansas Department of Agriculture Division of Conservation at 785-564-6620.