The Andrus award winner for 2010 was presented in November to Jim Courtney, Johnson County AARP chapter member.

AARP's founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus, wanted to honor volunteer service, so each year AARP honors his legacy by awarding the AARP Andrus award for community service. This most prestigious and visible volunteer award is given each year to one individual in each state of the country.

A long-time advocate for senior mobility efforts, Courtney has worked with local nonprofit agencies to establish transportation options for seniors in Johnson County.

Courtney also serves as chairman of the Special Transportation Job Access Committee and member of the Transit Committee for the greater Kansas City area. He leads mobility efforts for the KC 4 Aging in Community project, which focuses on six key aging concerns: housing, mobility, caregiving, health and technology, civic engagement and employment.

The previous year's winner has the honor of introducing the new winner each year. Opal Flinn, Ellis, 2009 winner, introduced Courtney at the ceremony in Courtney's chapter meeting, Overland Park Chapter No. 2333, at the Hillcrest Covenant Church, Prairie Village, KS.

The past winners include Harry Watts, Hays, in 2007 and Gerald and Dianna Schmidt, Wichita in 2008.

Opal Flinn, Ellis, is a member of the Generations Advisory Group.