COLUMBUS — Members of the Ohio Senate Majority Caucus Tuesdasy unanimously elected Senator Larry Obhof (R-Medina) to serve as President of the Ohio Senate for the 132nd General Assembly.

President-elect Obhof will be the first Senator from Medina County to lead the chamber since Senator Samuel Humphreyville, who served as the Senate's leader in the 1860s.

Senator Obhof was appointed to the Ohio Senate in 2011 and was elected by the voters in 2012 and again this year. He has served in leadership since 2013, first as Majority Whip and most recently as President Pro Tempore—the chamber's number two position.

"I am honored that my colleagues have selected me to lead the Senate in the upcoming General Assembly,” said Obhof. “I look forward to continuing our efforts to improve Ohio’s economy and making sure our state is responsive to the people of Ohio."

Senator Obhof will officially assume his role as Senate President on Wednesday, January 4, 2017 along with Senator Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House) as President Pro Tempore, Senator Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green) as Majority Floor Leader and Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville) reelected as Majority Whip.

Senator Obhof represents the 22nd Ohio Senate District, which encompasses all of Medina, Ashland and Richland counties as well as portions of Holmes County.

Senator Obhof has sponsored legislation covering a wide range of issues, including education, civil and criminal law, election administration and taxation. He has been named Watchdog of the Treasury by United Conservatives of Ohio and a friend of Agriculture by the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation. In 2013, Obhof was named Guardian of Small Business by the National Federation of Independent Business in recognition of his efforts to improve Ohio's economy. Obhof resides in Montville Township with his wife Nicole and their three daughters.

Senator Peterson has served in the Ohio Senate since 2012. He currently chairs the Senate Ways and Means Committee, which oversees legislation that affects state and local government revenues as well as tax collection. Before coming to the Ohio Senate, Senator Peterson served a term in the House of Representatives and 14 years as a Fayette County Commissioner. A lifelong farmer, Senator Peterson and his wife, Lisa, continue to operate their family farm in Fayette County where they live with their three children, Sarah, Hannah and Todd.

Senator Gardner has served in various leadership posts in the General Assembly including Senate Majority Leader, Senate President Pro Tempore, House Majority Leader and House Speaker Pro Tempore. As current Chairman of the Senate Finance Higher Education Subcommittee, Senator Gardner puts his experience as a former educator to work, ensuring Ohio's schools have the necessary resources to prepare the next generation for success. He is also a member of the powerful Senate Finance Committee as well as several panels addressing issues such as health care, agriculture and natural resources. Senator Gardner and his wife, Sandy, reside in Bowling Green and are the parents of three children, Brooks, Christina and Austin.

Senator Gayle Manning has been chosen to continue serving in her role as Senate Majority Whip. Before being sworn in as State Senator in 2011, Manning spent 37 years as an elementary school teacher. She has sponsored and co-sponsored various pieces of life-saving legislation aimed at combating the problem of heroin addiction.

As Chair of the Senate Transportation, Commerce and Labor Committee, she oversaw the passage of a $7.06 billion investment in the construction, maintenance and safety of the state's job-sustaining highway system. She resides in North Ridgeville where she and her late husband, former State Representative Jeff Manning, raised their two children, Allison and Nathan.