LAWRENCE -- Student Housing at the University of Kansas named its 2013-14 student leaders. Leadership in the halls includes resident assistants for KU's eight residence halls, proctors and food board managers for 12 scholarship halls and top officers for the four housing government organizations. More than 175 KU students were selected for these positions.

Area students selected are:

* Andrea Stewart, Smith Center. Stewart is a resident assistant in Oliver Residence Hall.

* Seth LaPorte, Plainville. LaPorte is a food board manager in Stephenson Scholarship Hall.

* * *

OTTAWA -- Wes Coomes of Phillipsburg will be recognized Oct. 24 as a Coach Dick Peters Scholarship recipient during Ottawa University's Braves Athletic Hall of Fame induction banquet. The ceremony will be at 6:30 p.m. in the Mowbray Student Union at 1001 S. Cedar Street, Ottawa. Registration is required at

In his first season on the gridiron as a Brave, Coomes, a senior, earned Honorable Mention All-KCAC honors at linebacker. He finished the season with 64 tackles, one sack, and six pass breakups. Coomes had a career-high 11 tackles against Sterling College. He is the son of Kevin Coomes and Sherisa Wood and is a business administration and physical education major.

The scholarship is awarded in honor of Coach Dick Peters', whose playing career included three letters each in football and track.

as well as All-Big Six End honors at Kansas State University