Area students were among the scholarship recipients who attended the recent Fort Hays State University College of Business and Leadership's scholarship award ceremony for the 2012-13 academic year. More than 200 donors, students, parents, and faculty members were present.

One hundred and twelve scholarships, totaling more than $106,000, and 20 full-time graduate fellowships, totaling more than $93,000, were awarded for the coming year.

"We are thrilled by the continued generosity of our College of Business and Leadership benefactors who demonstrate their support of the best and brightest of our student leaders," said Mark Bannister, dean of the College of Business and Leadership. "These gracious contributors, like our excellent faculty, believe student success is our business, professionally, personally and for a lifetime."

The following students received scholarships:

* La Crosse: Thomas Moeder, junior, a $1,000 Insurance Planning management, marketing, accounting or finance scholarship and a $300 departmental accounting Scholarship

* Ness City: Kyle Calvin, junior, a $600 Commerce Bank scholarship.

* Hays: Sarah Disney, senior, a $550 Northwest Kansas Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors scholarship and a $500 Emprise Bank finance scholarship; Samantha Hardwick, junior, a $2,000 Jack and Peggy McCullick scholarship and a $1,000 Emprise Bank Norman and Ann Jeter scholarship; Rebecca Kohl, sophomore, a $500 Jack and Peggy Heather scholarship; Jason Mayers, senior, a $1,000 David L. Meckenstock financial planning scholarship and a $750 Cargill Accounting/Finance Scholarship; Jordan Niernberger, junior, a $550 Northwest Kansas Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors scholarship and a $500 Management and Marketing department scholarship; Sean Nixon, senior, a $1,000 Farmers Alliance Scholarship and a $500 COBL Award undergraduate scholarship; Jessie Steffen, junior, a $1,000 Bank of Hays Rev. William Miller memorial scholarship and a $300 accounting scholarship; Jeff Stramel, senior, a $500 Management Information Systems Faculty scholarship.

* Hill City: Robyn Reese, junior, a $500 Robert S. and Elizabeth W. Armstrong scholarship.

* Logan: Carri Brobst, senior, a $1,000 Schwaller award scholarship; a $600 Scott and Rita Harmon scholarship; a $500 Kansas Farm Credit Services scholarship; and a $500 William E. Lusk Sscholarship; Anna Zillinger, senior, a $500 Adams Brown Beran and Ball scholarship.

* Lucas: Tia Dougherty, senior, a $500 Departmental Corporate Communication Training and Development scholarship.

* Morland: Michael Leibold, graduate student, a $7,000 graduate teaching assistantship in China.

* Norton: Travis Ray, senior, a $2,050 William E. Lusk scholarship, a $1,200 John Garwood Scholarship, and a $500 Creta Lois Sproul scholarship.

* Ogallah: Shawna Borger, senior, a $1,000 Lindburg, Vogel, Pierce, Faris Accounting scholarship and a $750 Kennedy and Coe scholarship.

* Palco: Marissa Lambert, senior, a $1,000 BKD Accounting scholarship .

* Plainville: Josh Brungardt, graduate student, a $500 COBL award graduate scholarship.

* Russell: Amanda Brown, graduate student, a $7,000 graduate teaching assistantship, Rex Soldan, junior, a $500 management and marketing department scholarship; Derek Varner, senior, a $500 Emprise Bank management scholarship.

* Stockton: Charley Campbell, special student, an NBEA award of merit for 2012.

* Victoria: Jenna Braun, senior, a $1,000 High Plains Farm Credit scholarship and a $500 COBL award undergraduate scholarship; Courtney Kanzenbach, senior, a $1,000 Insurance Planning management, marketing, accounting or finance scholarship and a $500 Robert S. and Elizabeth W. Armstrong Sscholarship.

* Colby: Cade Carter, senior, a $500 Creta Lois Sproul scholarship; Tyson Miller, senior, a $500 Alpha Kappa Psi scholarship; Lindsey Wilson, senior, a $1,200 Peier Family scholarship.

* Grainfield: Trisha Goetz, senior, a $7,000 graduate teaching assistantship, a $1,000 Mapes and Miller CPA scholarship, and a $500 Adams Brown Beran and Ball scholarship.

* Grinnell: Eric Schoendaler, junior, a $500 Ruthetta Krause scholarship.

* Hoxie: Jeff Kaufman, graduate student, a $7,000 graduate assistantship in management information systems; Troy Oelke, senior, a $1,000 Jack Logan management information systems scholarship.

* Park: Austin Zerr, junior, a $3,000 Dr. Robert and Mrs. Loretta Sandmeyer scholarship.

* Quinter: Zachary Woolf, senior, a $1,000 Insurance Planning information networking and telecommunications scholarship and a $1,000 Jack and Peggy Heather scholarship.

FHSU's College of Business and Leadership offers 10 undergraduate degrees, 11 minors, 16 undergraduate certificates, six graduate degrees and four graduate certificates through the departments of economics, finance and accounting; informatics; and management and marketing.

* * *

HOUSTON -- Brooke Kibel, Goodland, graduated from the University of Houston with a degree in optometry.

More than 4,400 graduating students representing 12 colleges and the interdisciplinary Honors College were honored at UH's spring 2013 commencement.

* * *

Natalie Pauline Hagman, granddaughter of Robert and the late Alma Armbrister and daughter of Michelle Armbrister and Carl Hagman, graduated with honors May 19 from the University of Kansas. She received a bachelor of science degree in human biology with a concentration in psychology.

She has been accepted to the University of Kansas Medical School in Wichita. She will begin her studies in July and plans to practice as a primary care physician in Kansas.